We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent return visit to Braeside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Braeside Guest House
Ranked #18 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 November 2014

A return to Braeside to see Fiona is like visiting a friendly relative. From welcoming drinks to laundry, booking of restaurants to helpful advice it cannot be beaten. I thought the food offered at breakfast was excellent and took a photo of the menu and buffet to show other what should be offered.
Cannot praise the stay to highly.

Room Tip: All rooms will be quiet as situated in a large garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2014

We ve never seen such a nice place before. Everything is top quality.
Fiona has thought on every detail. The garden is a beauty. The breakfast was great. The room did us feel like the king and the queen of the world. We were provided with lots of documentation. Internet connection was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vanoverloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place to unwind. The plunge pool is perfect after a hard day of sightseeing.
I stayed in the "Tribal" room which has no bath but is large enough to share with a colleague.
The breakfast is excellent with attentive service.
Must come here again.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
Thank BBJSportguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2014

This ancient house is absolutely adorable and very well maintained. We enjoyed a superdeluxe breakfast with a nice view on the garden and surrounding area (it is located on a hill) But most of all the warm welcome by Fiona and her useful tips for the restaurants. Thanks! Veerle & Gerrit

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gerrit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2014

Fiona is a wonderful host. The room (mountain view room) was charming and really spacious. Not heavily renovated - it retains much victorian character while still being very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing - great food, lots of attention to detail, and a wide range of fresh fruit (raspberries!). The location is good - fairly central while still secluded. I loved the garden and the sounds of the chirping frogs at night. Fiona told me that some guests complain about this, so if the sounds of nature bother you, this might not be the right place for you. But if you want a good value, charming, victorian B&B with lots of character and excellent service, then Braeside is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jessican1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 km away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
528 reviews
0.2 km away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#6 of 39 in Swellendam
246 reviews
3.2 km away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 39 in Swellendam
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
De Companjie Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.6 km away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
151 reviews
3.2 km away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Guest House

Address: 13 Van Oudtshoorn Road, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: HK$624 - HK$851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braeside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new ownership this Beautiful Cape Edwardian house set in a large garden with views over the Langeberg Mountains and the Marloth Nature Reserve was built in 1901, Braeside has a lot of charm and character and is a haven of tranquillity with 5 very nice individually styled en-suite bedrooms. We are situated in a very peaceful and safe area of the picturesque town of Swellendam, in the Western Cape province of South Africa. We are a 4-Star graded property (Tourism Grading Council). We offer gracious, personal service in a beautiful setting. Our breakfast consists of a continental buffet composed of cereals, yogurt, fresh fruits, various local cheeses, cold meats, fruit juices. We also pride ourselves in serving several homemade products such as: freshly baked organic breads, orgnanic cake, organic sweet and savory muffins, jams and marmalade. The cooked part of our breakfast will be made on request. It will consist of our fresh free range eggs either fried, scrambled, poached, or boiled; we can also provide very nice omelettes with several seasonings, bacon, mushrooms, sausage and grilled tomatoes Braeside is the ideal place to spend a couple of days exploring the Overberg region from visits to the coast to the beautiful winelands, all within easy reach. Or you can just spend a day relaxing by the pool, in the lovely gardens or beautiful patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Braeside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing