We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic retreat”
Review of Bloomestate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bloomestate
Ranked #1 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Thank you Martin for a great stay. Beautiful room with large ensuite bathroom, delightful grounds with swimming pool and hot tub. We were lucky to see some colourful birds flying around the estate. Relaxing stay, delcious breakfast. Would recommend.

Room Tip: South facing suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Serge665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2017

What a fantastic stay. It was everything I expected and more. My husband and I spent two nights in the Red Cloud Room. One of the day’s was spent just chilling out at the estate - a wise move. I spent a perfect afternoon in the lounge listening to the birds in the beautiful gardens and enjoying a relaxing time reading while my husband was sketching on the deck at the Lilly pond. Coffee machine in lounge area was a nice touch as was the wide selection of reading material. There is also an outdoor Jacuzzi (very clean) which we used the one evening. Care was taken that there were different items on the buffet each morning. Cooked breakfast available to order - bacon is outstanding! Carla and Maarten (owners) were attentive to our needs while at the same time respecting our privacy - a rare balance! There are two resident well-behaved / trained Ridgebacks that add to the charm of the estate. The wifi speed was also excellent (unlike so many places which offer free wifi which does not work properly)

Room Tip: Red Cloud most spacious (worth it for more than one night or you intend on spending time enjoying th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Last time we were in Swellendam and at Bloomestate was 2004, so quite some time ago. Maarten and Carla bought the property a year later, they are really great hosts and the propery is stylish with a relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast is very nice presented. We will not forget the dogs, how sweet and well trained! Would certainly reccomend Bloomestate and Swellendam!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickBos010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at the beautiful guesthouse Bloomestate! Thanks to the outstanding care and hospitality of owners Maarten en Carla.
Every day starts with a really delicious breakfast with fresly squeezed juice, bread, fruits, cakes, eggs etc. And all the food is presented so festive!
After breakfast you can enjoy the beautiful big garden with swimming pool and jacuzzi where you can relax and have a astonishing view of the mountains.
If the weather is not so good, you can enjoy the cosy lounge with free tea and coffee, books, films and a so called honesty bar.
The big rooms are tidy and provided with a comfortable bed, bathroom, minibar, tv and a safe. Bloomestate is situated next to a spa and a beauty and massage salon. After a couple of days enjoying the wonderful stay it felt like a very warm home.
If we have the chance we will definitely go again. Thank you Carla en Maarten!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Filip_Ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloomestate, Owner at Bloomestate, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thanks Filip and Ingrid for this wonderful review of your stay. It was a real pleasure to host you here at Bloomestate and you are most welcome next time around! xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Bloomestate. The hosts made us feel very welcome and were very helpfull in giving tips for restaurants and places to go. The BB has a beautiful interior and you can tell the host has an eye for detail! Very chilled ambiance and a lovely pool, and even a jacuzzi! The rooms smelled delicious (their own room spray) and provided everything and more (candles, bathrobes, lots of towels), this made it feel very luxurious. Breakfast was amazing, Fresh fruits including raspberries and figs :) Swellendam is a small city with nothing much to do but a good stop on our garden route, luckily we booked at Bloomestate and we chilled the whole day at the pool and bar and living area (amazing cookies and tea). Bloomestate provides lots of space and I couldn't decide where to read my book (hammock, jacuzzi, chill area, pool beds, room?). We would definitely come back, perfect combination of luxery and nature, we felt very welcome!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Flo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
3.2 km away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 km away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
466 reviews
3.4 km away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
2.3 km away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
391 reviews
2.9 km away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomestate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomestate

Address: 276 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: HK$1,046 - HK$1,624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomestate 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloomestate Swellendam: This trendy guesthouse offers the restful feel of a country retreat with the style of a chic design hotel. Colourful chic in balance with natural surroundings. Bright and spacious rooms with terrace and views, high tech equipment, design furniture and free internet access and luxurious bathrooms (double bath and separate walk in shower) with bath and body products of Rain.Relax at the poolside or on the sundeck on the pound, try the Jacuzzi or pamper yourself with a wellness massage in the dedicated treatment room. Breakfast is a high treat, separate guest lounge with funky bar wing and large covered terrace with views. Good restaurants on strolling distance, owner managed. Only 2 hours from Capetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloomestate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing