We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing luxury setting!”
Review of Bloomestate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bloomestate
Ranked #1 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at the beautiful guesthouse Bloomestate! Thanks to the outstanding care and hospitality of owners Maarten en Carla.
Every day starts with a really delicious breakfast with fresly squeezed juice, bread, fruits, cakes, eggs etc. And all the food is presented so festive!
After breakfast you can enjoy the beautiful big garden with swimming pool and jacuzzi where you can relax and have a astonishing view of the mountains.
If the weather is not so good, you can enjoy the cosy lounge with free tea and coffee, books, films and a so called honesty bar.
The big rooms are tidy and provided with a comfortable bed, bathroom, minibar, tv and a safe. Bloomestate is situated next to a spa and a beauty and massage salon. After a couple of days enjoying the wonderful stay it felt like a very warm home.
If we have the chance we will definitely go again. Thank you Carla en Maarten!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Filip_Ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloomestate, Owner at Bloomestate, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thanks Filip and Ingrid for this wonderful review of your stay. It was a real pleasure to host you here at Bloomestate and you are most welcome next time around! xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Bloomestate. The hosts made us feel very welcome and were very helpfull in giving tips for restaurants and places to go. The BB has a beautiful interior and you can tell the host has an eye for detail! Very chilled ambiance and a lovely pool, and even a jacuzzi! The rooms smelled delicious (their own room spray) and provided everything and more (candles, bathrobes, lots of towels), this made it feel very luxurious. Breakfast was amazing, Fresh fruits including raspberries and figs :) Swellendam is a small city with nothing much to do but a good stop on our garden route, luckily we booked at Bloomestate and we chilled the whole day at the pool and bar and living area (amazing cookies and tea). Bloomestate provides lots of space and I couldn't decide where to read my book (hammock, jacuzzi, chill area, pool beds, room?). We would definitely come back, perfect combination of luxery and nature, we felt very welcome!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Flo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Been there at least 4-5 times during the last years and stayed there always for 4 days.
As you enter the yard, you can see already the shady parking lots. Further down the path are the rooms, each with view to the pool and the courtyard with trees and lavender beds. The lounge across the courtyard with fridge (drinks), free coffe and tea and beautiful seating facilities is nice and welcoming. The quality of breakfast always outstanding. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank herbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Carla and Maarten, welcome us in what i consider is theyr house, they manage the place as theyr own residence and treaty consequently the guest, bloomestate is more than anamazing place, the quiet and the good energy that each single corner of the estate give to us, the room as well the pool and all the amenities are much better than some of the five stars L hotel around the world that we had visit, the differences btw perfect place and a place that fill also your soul with happyness is done by Carla and Marteen, surely if we will back in South Africa Bloomestate will be a place where we would like to live sometimes again.
Thank you for had us as guest in your house.
Mario & Raluca

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeisadreamtolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

This is our second time at Bloomestate. Everything there is a reason to come back: beautiful garden and beautiful, nice, comfortable and modern guesthouses. An 'inviting' swimming pool and a very exclusive and delicious breakfast. But not in the last place our hosts. Carla and Maarten are so friendly, helpful and good hostes. There are good restaurants around, Carla and Maarten advise you about visiting possibilities.

Room Tip: Every room is of the same high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ineke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
3.2 km away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 km away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
457 reviews
3.4 km away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
381 reviews
0.2 km away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 39 in Swellendam
210 reviews
2.8 km away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomestate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomestate

Address: 276 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: HK$936 - HK$1,599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomestate 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloomestate Swellendam: This trendy guesthouse offers the restful feel of a country retreat with the style of a chic design hotel. Colourful chic in balance with natural surroundings. Bright and spacious rooms with terrace and views, high tech equipment, design furniture and free internet access and luxurious bathrooms (double bath and separate walk in shower) with bath and body products of Rain.Relax at the poolside or on the sundeck on the pound, try the Jacuzzi or pamper yourself with a wellness massage in the dedicated treatment room. Breakfast is a high treat, separate guest lounge with funky bar wing and large covered terrace with views. Good restaurants on strolling distance, owner managed. Only 2 hours from Capetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloomestate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing