We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveller rating
645
33
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
33
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred cloudhonesty baroutdoor jacuzzigarden routeperfect combinationgreat hostscape towndutch couplewarm welcomesouth africabeautiful gardendelicious breakfastattention to detaillounge areaspacious bathrooma great stayeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 681 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Bloomestate. The hosts made us feel very welcome and were very helpfull in giving tips for restaurants and places to go. The BB has a beautiful interior and you can tell the host has an eye for detail! Very chilled ambiance and a lovely pool, and even a jacuzzi! The rooms smelled delicious (their own room spray) and provided everything and more (candles, bathrobes, lots of towels), this made it feel very luxurious. Breakfast was amazing, Fresh fruits including raspberries and figs :) Swellendam is a small city with nothing much to do but a good stop on our garden route, luckily we booked at Bloomestate and we chilled the whole day at the pool and bar and living area (amazing cookies and tea). Bloomestate provides lots of space and I couldn't decide where to read my book (hammock, jacuzzi, chill area, pool beds, room?). We would definitely come back, perfect combination of luxery and nature, we felt very welcome!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Flo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Been there at least 4-5 times during the last years and stayed there always for 4 days.
As you enter the yard, you can see already the shady parking lots. Further down the path are the rooms, each with view to the pool and the courtyard with trees and lavender beds. The lounge across the courtyard with fridge (drinks), free coffe and tea and beautiful seating facilities is nice and welcoming. The quality of breakfast always outstanding. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank herbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Carla and Maarten, welcome us in what i consider is theyr house, they manage the place as theyr own residence and treaty consequently the guest, bloomestate is more than anamazing place, the quiet and the good energy that each single corner of the estate give to us, the room as well the pool and all the amenities are much better than some of the five stars L hotel around the world that we had visit, the differences btw perfect place and a place that fill also your soul with happyness is done by Carla and Marteen, surely if we will back in South Africa Bloomestate will be a place where we would like to live sometimes again.
Thank you for had us as guest in your house.
Mario & Raluca

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeisadreamtolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

This is our second time at Bloomestate. Everything there is a reason to come back: beautiful garden and beautiful, nice, comfortable and modern guesthouses. An 'inviting' swimming pool and a very exclusive and delicious breakfast. But not in the last place our hosts. Carla and Maarten are so friendly, helpful and good hostes. There are good restaurants around, Carla and Maarten advise you about visiting possibilities.

Room Tip: Every room is of the same high quality
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ineke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We visited 4 years ago and found, on our return, that it was, if anything, even better. It is run by a lovely Dutch couple who are both friendly and extremely helpful.
Our room was large and comfortable while the pool and area around are very spacious and overlooked by beautiful trees. Great breakfasts and a large lounge with coffee constantly available. We even found our car had been washed while we were there.
The village of Swellendam is charming and, although a fair walk from Bloomestate (20 minutes or so), well worth visiting. About 4 or 5 decent restaurants and a reliable and cheap taxi service in the evening complete the picture. Oh and there's a National Park close by with several good walks.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews