We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rothman Manor(Swellendam)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marula Lodge(Swellendam)(Great Value!)
US$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langeberg Guest Lodge(Swellendam)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$92
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
634
33
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
33
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred cloudhonesty barluxury retreatoutdoor jacuzzigarden routedesigned roomsperfect combinationgreat hostscape towndutch couplewarm welcomestayed for nightssouth africaan oasisbeautiful gardeneye for detaildelicious breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We visited 4 years ago and found, on our return, that it was, if anything, even better. It is run by a lovely Dutch couple who are both friendly and extremely helpful.
Our room was large and comfortable while the pool and area around are very spacious and overlooked by beautiful trees. Great breakfasts and a large lounge with coffee constantly available. We even found our car had been washed while we were there.
The village of Swellendam is charming and, although a fair walk from Bloomestate (20 minutes or so), well worth visiting. About 4 or 5 decent restaurants and a reliable and cheap taxi service in the evening complete the picture. Oh and there's a National Park close by with several good walks.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We were lucky enough to spend a night at Bloomestate for one night last month and it was superb . The main house is very modern with an excellent breakfast room serving an excellent breakfast .The grounds are large with a beautiful natural wooded area with a pond and there is a very pleasant swimming pool . We were booked into an excellent local restaurant for dinner .The rooms are in separate outbuildings and are extremely comfortable . I would thoroughly recommend Bloomestate to anyone breaking their journey from Cape Town to the Garden Route .

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkburne2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

A place to relax. Carla and Maarten are excellent hosts. The breakfast was fantastic. Beautiful garden with mountain view. Our car was very dirty after going through the Baviaanskloof. We were very happy when our car was cleaned without asking.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MarleenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Bloomestate is an hidden gem situated in Swellendam. Carla & Maarten build the perfect hideaway in Swellendam. We are grateful to stay at Bloomestate and enjoyed the hospitality, rooms, pool and the relaxt atmosphere. Lovely eggs and I can highly recommended the omelette Vesuvius.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joepR2015XN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed our return visit to Bloomestate immensely. We received a warm welcome from Carla and Maarten to this oasis of peace and serenity. Nothing is overlooked. Suites, garden, lounge and of course the wonderful breakfasts. Loved the candles in the trees in the evening and the car wash in the morning. Certainly deserves a 5 star rating.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank eleanor g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews