We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloomestate is just perfect in every way!”
Review of Bloomestate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bloomestate
Ranked #1 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2017

This is our second time at Bloomestate. Everything there is a reason to come back: beautiful garden and beautiful, nice, comfortable and modern guesthouses. An 'inviting' swimming pool and a very exclusive and delicious breakfast. But not in the last place our hosts. Carla and Maarten are so friendly, helpful and good hostes. There are good restaurants around, Carla and Maarten advise you about visiting possibilities.

Room Tip: Every room is of the same high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ineke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2017

We visited 4 years ago and found, on our return, that it was, if anything, even better. It is run by a lovely Dutch couple who are both friendly and extremely helpful.
Our room was large and comfortable while the pool and area around are very spacious and overlooked by beautiful trees. Great breakfasts and a large lounge with coffee constantly available. We even found our car had been washed while we were there.
The village of Swellendam is charming and, although a fair walk from Bloomestate (20 minutes or so), well worth visiting. About 4 or 5 decent restaurants and a reliable and cheap taxi service in the evening complete the picture. Oh and there's a National Park close by with several good walks.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We were lucky enough to spend a night at Bloomestate for one night last month and it was superb . The main house is very modern with an excellent breakfast room serving an excellent breakfast .The grounds are large with a beautiful natural wooded area with a pond and there is a very pleasant swimming pool . We were booked into an excellent local restaurant for dinner .The rooms are in separate outbuildings and are extremely comfortable . I would thoroughly recommend Bloomestate to anyone breaking their journey from Cape Town to the Garden Route .

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkburne2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

A place to relax. Carla and Maarten are excellent hosts. The breakfast was fantastic. Beautiful garden with mountain view. Our car was very dirty after going through the Baviaanskloof. We were very happy when our car was cleaned without asking.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MarleenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Bloomestate is an hidden gem situated in Swellendam. Carla & Maarten build the perfect hideaway in Swellendam. We are grateful to stay at Bloomestate and enjoyed the hospitality, rooms, pool and the relaxt atmosphere. Lovely eggs and I can highly recommended the omelette Vesuvius.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joepR2015XN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
3.2 km away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.1 km away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
466 reviews
3.4 km away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
2.3 km away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
391 reviews
2.9 km away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomestate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomestate

Address: 276 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: HK$1,046 - HK$1,624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomestate 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloomestate Swellendam: This trendy guesthouse offers the restful feel of a country retreat with the style of a chic design hotel. Colourful chic in balance with natural surroundings. Bright and spacious rooms with terrace and views, high tech equipment, design furniture and free internet access and luxurious bathrooms (double bath and separate walk in shower) with bath and body products of Rain.Relax at the poolside or on the sundeck on the pound, try the Jacuzzi or pamper yourself with a wellness massage in the dedicated treatment room. Breakfast is a high treat, separate guest lounge with funky bar wing and large covered terrace with views. Good restaurants on strolling distance, owner managed. Only 2 hours from Capetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloomestate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing