We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rothman Manor(Swellendam)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hideaway(Swellendam)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
635
33
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
33
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred cloudhonesty barluxury retreatoutdoor jacuzzigarden routedesigned roomsperfect combinationgreat hostscape towndutch couplewarm welcomestayed for nightssouth africaan oasisbeautiful gardeneye for detaildelicious breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 671 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We were lucky enough to spend a night at Bloomestate for one night last month and it was superb . The main house is very modern with an excellent breakfast room serving an excellent breakfast .The grounds are large with a beautiful natural wooded area with a pond and there is a very pleasant swimming pool . We were booked into an excellent local restaurant for dinner .The rooms are in separate outbuildings and are extremely comfortable . I would thoroughly recommend Bloomestate to anyone breaking their journey from Cape Town to the Garden Route .

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkburne2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

A place to relax. Carla and Maarten are excellent hosts. The breakfast was fantastic. Beautiful garden with mountain view. Our car was very dirty after going through the Baviaanskloof. We were very happy when our car was cleaned without asking.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MarleenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Bloomestate is an hidden gem situated in Swellendam. Carla & Maarten build the perfect hideaway in Swellendam. We are grateful to stay at Bloomestate and enjoyed the hospitality, rooms, pool and the relaxt atmosphere. Lovely eggs and I can highly recommended the omelette Vesuvius.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joepR2015XN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed our return visit to Bloomestate immensely. We received a warm welcome from Carla and Maarten to this oasis of peace and serenity. Nothing is overlooked. Suites, garden, lounge and of course the wonderful breakfasts. Loved the candles in the trees in the evening and the car wash in the morning. Certainly deserves a 5 star rating.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank eleanor g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

The estate is an oasis waking up to birdsong of a morning. We stayed for one night on two separate occasions. The weather cooperated for us to sunbathe the first time and to drink champagne around the pool before cooling off for a swim. We appreciated the use of the golf sized umbrellas the second time.

The breakfasts were amazing and we appreciated having maps printed off for our off the beaten track routes to get to our next stop along the Garden Route.

The urban chic was a pleasant change from our more traditional overnight stops and it worked so well with the surroundings. We loved the little candle lit trees at dusk and the scent of the flowers.

As an added touch, the gardener even washed one of the cars, having had a bit of an "off road" experience coming across from CPT!

Knowing just how booked this establishment can get, I'd suggest travellers book as soon as they know their dates.

Well done Carla and Maarten!

Room Tip: The rooms to the left hand side are further away from the road and make for a super quiet night's sleep. The "red room" was gorgeous.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaAnn2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews