We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
90
29
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
29
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxurious bedding large bathroom area one night open plan views of the mountains your doorstep delicious dinner mini bar road trip lovely place place to stay next morning kitchenette accommodation privacy 5star hairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Very beautiful large domain superbly maintained with a stunning location near the Langeberg mountains, beautiful views, quiet, still close to Swellendam centre. Rooms are located in different buildings on the premises, same remark, superbly maintained, very large in size, comfortable kingsize bed, large patio and large bathroom area with shower and bathtub located nicely in the middle of the room. Possibility to do some walks on the domain with pointed out tracks.
Parking area just 3 meters from your doorstep, very convenient.
Breakfast offers a small high quality buffet and warm dishes can be ordered on top of it. Very good quality, the croissants, try them...
Very good service, friendly and hospitable manager.
Last tip, try restaurant Field&Fork at walking distance, lovely dinner.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PapaBravoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

What an amazing place!
Nestled on the foot of a beautiful mountain, these mondern cottages has it all!
Beautiful bathrooms, with a enormous bath, and the softest towels!
King size beds with fluffy pillows!
They have weber braais available if you feel like braaiing at your cottage.
But a few restaurants are just a short car drive away.
Breakfast the next day was very delicious!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank annieplett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen_Arthur, Public Relations Manager at Gaikou Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear annieplett, thank you so much for your beautiful review, and for your top star rating! I'll make sure to share your compliments with the entire Gaikou Lodge team. Much appreciated! Best regards, Jeroen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

A lovely place,amazing views , clean spacious accommodation with all the extras. Has nice big verandas to enjoy sundowners. Situated in the Marloth reserve in Swellendam. We were served a fresh breakfast of bacon,sausage,eggs, mushrooms etc the next morning.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank PaarlAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen_Arthur, Public Relations Manager at Gaikou Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear PaarlAlice, thank you so much for your beautiful review, and for your top star rating! I'll make sure to share your compliments with the entire Gaikou Lodge team. Much and much appreciated! Best regards, Jeroen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We wanted to stay on the Mardouw Olive Estate and thought we had booked there. We were actually in a lodge at the edge of Swellendam. The receptionist explained that Mardouw Estate advertises the Manor house and Gaikou lodge on their site but they are in two different locations. We did have a nice stay however, we felt a little bit bamboozled. We suggest management make the distinction clear.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bethepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen_Arthur, Public Relations Manager at Gaikou Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear bethepeople, we apologise profoundly for this misunderstanding. We understand that our website may have been misleading in this regard, and have updated it accordingly to avoid this misunderstanding in the future. We are delighted that you did have a nice stay after all, thank you for sharing your thoughts, and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Jeroen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

What a gorgeous property situated at the foot of the Langeberg mountains.Extremely peaceful.The hilight was the king sized bed and lovely bedding which included an electric blanketspacious rooms and living areas.Really loved the weekend away especially if you came to do nothing.My kids(esp the 10 year old) eventually got a bit antsy as there is nothing to do.We did the river walk as well as went into the town and visited the museum.Breakfast was really nice,a good variety.The downside is that they only have a cold swimming pool,if the pool had been warm it would have made it a bit more exciting.The veranda area on the 2 bedroom villa is quite huge...a nice fire pit would be nice especially for the winter months.What I really didn't like was the fact that the villa had no built in BBQ so you had to rent a Weber at an extra cost.
PS: of the property had an on site spa facility it would have been 10 out of 10
Built in braai,fire pit,warm water swimming pool and on site spa...not too much to ask for I think!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Shahima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen_Arthur, Public Relations Manager at Gaikou Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Shahima, thank you so much for your beautiful review, and for your star rating! I'll make sure to share your compliments with the entire Gaikou Lodge team. Much and much appreciated! Best regards, Jeroen (PS Your recommendation for an on-site spa is duly noted! ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews