We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Experience!”
Review of Saggy Stone

Saggy Stone
Ranked #7 of 30 Restaurants in Robertson
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wow , I’ve never been so disappointed before.
Food / service / attitude from stuff and management was terrible.
Everything was wrong
Please don’t try this place !!!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Bianca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler36626426735, Owner at Saggy Stone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day Bianca
After a very busy Easter weekend where all restaurants are over full and doing their best to accommodate all visitors, we are sad to see your review. We went out of our way to seat all guests who had driven out to us to have lunch (even those large groups which arrived without reservations like yours) - we are sorry if you felt this way. We only had one table which was so unhappy - so I am assuming this is your review.
We had the bad luck of having our water connection to the restaurant pop off during service which resulted in the entire restaurant being without water for 15 minutes while we fixed the problem. This obviously causes us all stress while we are aware of how busy the pub is. I totally understood your reasons for being so upset, I apologised continuously and even gave you your meal on the house,

We value each and every customer and are also very proud of the quality of the food we serve.

Very sorry that this was your experience of our restaurant

Regards
Jackie


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible food , very oily
The coffee was very bitter
The owner was very rude
I would Never visit again

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank OmriY20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRobSaggy, Owner at Saggy Stone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day Omri
I am really sorry that you had this response to your visit to Saggy Stone. If I remember you visited in January while you were staying in one of our cottages. We were super accommodating by storing your groceries in our fridge at the restaurant during your stay and at no point were we rude or unhelpful. We responded to each of your requests promptly and went out of our way to make your stay enjoyable.
I can confidently say that our food is fresh, and of good quality as the many positive reviews show.
Regards
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2021

We took a chance of getting a table without a reservation, on our way home from a weekend away.

What a pleasant lunch - the food was amazing and very reasonably priced, the craft beers were chilled and the service excellent. The muso played all the old favourites, and created a seriously relaxed atmosphere.

Our six year old played on the jungle gym, made some new friends and wants to know when we will be going back.

Easy - we will certainly be back soon!!

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ghathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2020

We just quickly popped in early morning for a beer tasting. They have some unique ones on offer and had a great Christmas special running. I would just recommend that they also sell their beer at the restaurant (4/6/12packs) to take home as I was advised to purchase online which adds complexity to the process.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2020 via mobile

Beautiful spot for lunch. The beers are great, as are the pizzas. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Perfect way to spend a sunny afternoon.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank RobRaw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saggy Stone also viewed

 
Robertson, Western Cape
Robertson, Western Cape
 

Been to Saggy Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.