We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't even know where to start, everything about this property was just amazing. The property to start off with is absolutely beautiful and so tastefully decorated with every last detail thought of. The staff were just wonderful, we mainly dealt with Declan who was the friendliest and most welcoming person and very willing to help with anything that we needed from things to do to booking us a car and restaurants or lending us some bikes for the day. There was free champagne in the room as well as free ports, brandies in the drawing room around the fireplace which you can enjoy with other guests if you so wish or you can take back to your room. The breakfast was delicious, there was everything you could possibly want on offer and all made to the highest standard and served in the very beautiful breakfast room. Unfortunately we were there in winter so didn't get to enjoy the pool but it looked really lovely. The property is a five minute walk from the centre of town so also very well placed. We honestly wouldn't hesitate to return, absolutely no complaints.
Thanks Declan and the team for everything - we will definitely be back one day.
Andrea & Damien

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Andre T, Thank you so much for your very kind review - it is greatly appreciated! We are delighted that you loved Akademie Street and please do not hesitate to return soon! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed at this wonderful boutique guesthouse in the newly refurbished cottage. In fact we were the first guests to stay there which was extra special. The whole guesthouse has been very tastefully decorated with 'moody' colours ,large modern paintings and lovely furniture. The cottage with its two beautiful apartments is stunning ...very spacious with underfloor heating and no expense spared fittings and furniture. Outside there is a small pool and an outside heated tub . The lighting inside and out of the cottage and in the grounds of the guesthouse has been carefully thought through. and looks delightful at night. The guesthouse is centrally situated and within walking distance of many excellent restaurants. The friendly atmosphere ,beautiful surroundings ,excellent staff and attention to detail make a stay at Akademie Street Guesthouse a joy . Congratulations to all the staff and especially to Declan and Paul for creating such a lovely place to stay !

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank whizzkid_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi whizzkid_9, thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are absolutely thrilled that you loved the 'all new' Gelatenheid cottage! You were indeed the first guests to stay there, so a massive thanks to you both, for giving us a huge thumbs up! Hopefully, we will see you again soon on Akademie Street. Kind Regards,Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our 4 nights were wonderful. You are greeted by Declan who explains in detail all info you need. The rooms are spacious with very comfortable and large beds- emperor size. You are provided a local phone to make calls to restaurants and other Franschhoek numbers. Breakfast was fabulous served by Stacy & Meena. The entire staff was attentive in particular Declan who helped us with restaurant reservations. Our room had a private wood fired outside hot tub and a small pool. Laundry service was an unexpected but welcomed surprise. My only complaint is the wifi which was slow. However this does not take away from the many pluses this hotel offers. I highly recommend it!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RBLfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi RBLfamily, thanks for your review & kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you again soon! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Home away from home is Akademie's motto and they certainly live up to it...
The attention to detail in every aspect of their hotel, from common areas to the intimacy of your room, is exceptional.
The staff, headed up by Declan, Meena & Stacey, are 100% committed to providing you with a stay that is truly second to none. They went out of their way to ensure our every need was met in a genuine, unpretentious manner.
Akademie stands head and shoulders above other boutique hotels we have had the privilege of visiting. They have truly mastered the art of making you feel like one of the family. We would give you a 6 star rating if we could..
Well done Paul, Declan, Meena, Stacey and all the staff at Akademie.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rigo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi rigo g, thank you so much for such kind & generous words. Believe me, it is so nice to know that guests really loved their time with us and hopefully we'll see you both back very soon! Kind Regards, Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Paul and Declan the two persons in charge of this property are people who really care about the type of premises they run. I hope other hoteliers read these reviews and decide to visit Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and see how a guest should be treated. You want laundry done? Put it in the laundry basket and it's done at no extra cost and without filling in forms; you want your breakfast in the morning? Take your seat in the dining room and Declan will take your order and take the time of day to explain the time of day. You wish to have an aperitif or digestif before or after dinner in Franschoek?Take your seat in the drawing room, relax and help yourself to first class cocktails, wines, spirits or soft drinks if you prefer. Declan and Paul will happily join you for excellent conversation and friendly advice about the locale they have created a home in. Or you can spend this time browsing the excellent books or enjoying the excellent art they have collected. And yet do not think this is place that is stuffy; it isn't - Declan and Paul have no time for pretentiousness, they and their staff are working too hard to make sure your stay is as relaxing and fulfilling as possible, in a manner that suits you the guest.

So Messrs Sofitel,Hilton,Sheraton...the list is endless, you big name and not so big name hoteliers, do yourself a favour, book into this 'inn' and see how a guest should be treated.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaFhk, Manager at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Gareth J, thank you for your review and we are absolutely delighted with your lovely comments! It is even more pleasing to us, that you had a great time on Akademie Street. Hopefully we will see you back soon. Kind Regards,
Declan & the Akademie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 km away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.8 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
2.3 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
535 reviews
0.4 km away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: 5 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range: HK$2,842 - HK$4,247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 7 suites. Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House in Franschhoek offers luxury five star accommodation in five unique buildings all situated on the same beautiful property in a quiet area of the village in the heart of the Cape wine lands. There are four swimming pools and four gardens. This hotel and guest house is in a quiet area within easy walking distance to the restaurants. - Owner Managed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing