We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. A little different.”
Review of Baku

Baku
Ranked #83 of 192 Restaurants in Freehold
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Food is excellent as is the service. Loved the lamb cabob. Music was too loud. Will definatly go back.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank pskamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Food was really good, but a little overpriced . I had the salmon. It was nicely seasoned and cooked well. The restaurant is BYOB. The service was okay. No one checked back with us after food was delivered to see if we needed anything. We had to wave down the server to get some water. My biggest complaint was that our main dishes were brought to our table shortly after our soup. So they just sat there getting cold while we finished. It all felt very rushed for a Saturday night out. But that did have one benefit; we were able to leave shortly after the live music started. Very loud.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank ampc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

This was our third visit to the restaurant, which we had previously enjoyed, and we brought a friend with us. A good meal, as usual (although their Baklava is pretty mediocre). But, for some unknown reason, they brought in a musical duo about 9 pm. There is little about the ambiance of this restaurant that suggests musical act are in order. It only gets better--the group was "Samba" based, singling many songs in Portuguese, because Samba music goes perfectly with mid-Eastern/central-Asian cuisine??? (And I love Samba--but did not work at this restaurant.)

Now it gets really bad--a whole 70s feel about the performance--VERY (excruciatingly) loud. We could no longer hear each other speak, without screaming! People began to leave.

Today, the three of us now use this restaurant as a disastrous (somewhat comical) experience. We will not return again. Advice--before going, ask if they will have music that evening. If so, do not make a rez ;-(

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

They serve good Uzbeck-Mediterranian-Russian food. It is worth a try and unusual in this part of NJ.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Delicious food at reasonable prices. I enjoyed all the different types of appetizers. The Lamp Chops were out of this world. The grilled Red Snapper was delicious. Baku salad is usually. A great starter dish.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank 926heshamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Baku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing