We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Homemade Ice Cream”

Gil & Bert's Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Cranbury
Price range: US$1 - US$8
Description: Old Fashioned Goodness! We serve our own Homemade Flavors and Giffords Ice Cream from Maine.
Restaurant details
Description: Old Fashioned Goodness! We serve our own Homemade Flavors and Giffords Ice Cream from Maine.
Reviewed 29 September 2018

What's not to like about having fresh, home made ice cream. Friendly service. Loved the pistachio. Liked the "birthday cone" for my pooch.

Thank Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2018

Had Ice Cream here after a really good dinner at a local Greek Restaurant. They were busy but efficient. Very friendly service, super good ice cream, and decent serving size. Great place for an ice cream snack

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BigDaddy3859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Great ice cream and courteous service! Many flavors. Cash only. Free doggie cones , although we splurge and get the kiddie cone ☺️

Thank gumby642016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Sadly I and at least twelve other people were turned away from Gil and Bert's. All of us had checked the web before departing our homes. We all reached sites that said they close at 10PM. They close at 9:30.PM. This has now been corrected. The group that was waiting when we arrived were turned away even though they were in line before 9:30PM. The three young women inside (according to witnesses) started cleaning at 9:20PM. Most businesses that care about their customers go outside and inform customers at whatever time is necessary that they are the last in line. Also if you must close at 9:30PM due to local ordinances then close at 9:15 so people are not disappointed and you have time to do your clean-up. This is a busy place with an excellent reputation but they don't know how to manage their customers who are waiting. It makes sense that a customer who arrives at 9:15 should be served even if it is a few minutes after 9:30PM. They may need to close earlier. to accomplish their clean up and accurate close time. No one said they were sorry. I will not return.

    • Service
Thank Coffeechip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine O, Owner at Gil & Bert's Ice Cream, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

I am so sorry about the time change. Google did not change the time even with repeated requests. And as you said, it is finally done.
The town time change was done last year and we were outside every night to break the news to our customers. It was a really tough adjustment for all. We thought all our customers were reached last year, apparently not, I"m so sorry.
The strict rules were given by me to the employees. There is a $500 fine and I am just not willing to risk getting fined.
We love our customer.
You will be missed!

Christine Ondocin
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

A couple of windows on the side of a house on a cute main street and extremely tasty ice cream at VERY reasonable prices. Had a hot fudge sundae with their chocolate oreo ice cream. Three words - yum, yum and yum. We’ll be back the next time we’re driving down Route 130.

Thank StartSlowAndEaseOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gil & Bert's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Gil & Bert's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing