We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Merchant(Secunda)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Ermelo Inn(Ermelo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Witbank(Emalahleni)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
26
6
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
6
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent accommodationdouble bedattention to detailan oasisin townlodgeexpectationshostbookingqualitydinnerstopmorning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

The week spent at The Lodge in Bethal was very easy, comfortable and warm. The whole establishment is extremely well maintained and managed and all the employee's or staff is very courteous and experienced. The breakfast in the morning is very well presented and served. The coffee from the grinding/assembly machine is very nice and gets your day going.

Thanks Kevin and Crew. It is a very highly recommended stop and stay-over.

I will always return.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Gerty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Good day, thanks for staying with us. Also it is appreciated to get such a report.
The Lodge always try to walk the extra mile but it not always appreciated as much as you did. Thanks Again until next time when we can welcome you home .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

the room was alright; not great and also not bad. we had dinner in the lodge. The quality of the food was okay, but the amount of food was to limited. Maybe enough for a small child, but certainly not for an adult. Ordering a desert was a necessity.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank U7014XOvincentv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Good day, thanks for your review even if it is not all that positive.
I remember your group clearly as I assisted you with two studio rooms and not the family unit as you booked and gave you a refund for the family unit. I also personally asked you after the meal was served if everything is okay on the table and all said "good thanks". If anybody would ask for a bigger helping or a second helping we would serve you gladly as it was not from the a-la-carte menu. Lastly I hope that the dessert was better than okay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The Lodge is exceptionally well maintained. Friendly staff and good management. The food exceeded all expectations. This was a last minute booking which turned out to be a blessing in disguise. A perfect place for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank paddie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you very much, it takes a special eye to see a gem.
We always do our very best to comfort a guest as it is not
always comfortable for a guest not to be at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Our last night after spending 5 weeks in Southern Africa was spent at The Lodge. We were welcomed by the proprietor Kevin to the perfect place to rest before making our final approach to O. R. Rambo Airport for our return flights home.

This was a sanctuary for us after our weeks of travel in some pretty gritty places. The location allowed us the advantage of being a short distance (only 2 hrs..)from the airport thus avoiding Johannesburg. the room was beautifully decorated and the restaurant was superb. The proprietor Kevin put together an insightful itinerary for us which allowed us to check our rental car in and fill our day with some final sightseeing using public transportation rather than waiting around the airport all day. We could not have possibly come up without such a plan.

Thank you Kevin. We appreciate you efforts. What a great host.

T & R (San Diego

Room Tip: The two rooms we looked at were both impeccable and I have no doubt that all the room are great.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RichardC_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Good day, i am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Bethal. We are the last and best place to stay over before O R Thambo airport. Glad you used Gautrain and visited Gold Reef City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Clean and comfortable room. Friendly staff and management good over night accomodation excellent food both breakfast and dinner. Worthwile recommending to colleagues and friends. Thanks to Kevin and his team for a good 2 day stay.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank damino_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews