We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Stay”
Review of The Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Bethal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

The week spent at The Lodge in Bethal was very easy, comfortable and warm. The whole establishment is extremely well maintained and managed and all the employee's or staff is very courteous and experienced. The breakfast in the morning is very well presented and served. The coffee from the grinding/assembly machine is very nice and gets your day going.

Thanks Kevin and Crew. It is a very highly recommended stop and stay-over.

I will always return.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Gerty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Good day, thanks for staying with us. Also it is appreciated to get such a report.
The Lodge always try to walk the extra mile but it not always appreciated as much as you did. Thanks Again until next time when we can welcome you home .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2017

the room was alright; not great and also not bad. we had dinner in the lodge. The quality of the food was okay, but the amount of food was to limited. Maybe enough for a small child, but certainly not for an adult. Ordering a desert was a necessity.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank U7014XOvincentv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Good day, thanks for your review even if it is not all that positive.
I remember your group clearly as I assisted you with two studio rooms and not the family unit as you booked and gave you a refund for the family unit. I also personally asked you after the meal was served if everything is okay on the table and all said "good thanks". If anybody would ask for a bigger helping or a second helping we would serve you gladly as it was not from the a-la-carte menu. Lastly I hope that the dessert was better than okay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The Lodge is exceptionally well maintained. Friendly staff and good management. The food exceeded all expectations. This was a last minute booking which turned out to be a blessing in disguise. A perfect place for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank paddie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you very much, it takes a special eye to see a gem.
We always do our very best to comfort a guest as it is not
always comfortable for a guest not to be at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Our last night after spending 5 weeks in Southern Africa was spent at The Lodge. We were welcomed by the proprietor Kevin to the perfect place to rest before making our final approach to O. R. Rambo Airport for our return flights home.

This was a sanctuary for us after our weeks of travel in some pretty gritty places. The location allowed us the advantage of being a short distance (only 2 hrs..)from the airport thus avoiding Johannesburg. the room was beautifully decorated and the restaurant was superb. The proprietor Kevin put together an insightful itinerary for us which allowed us to check our rental car in and fill our day with some final sightseeing using public transportation rather than waiting around the airport all day. We could not have possibly come up without such a plan.

Thank you Kevin. We appreciate you efforts. What a great host.

T & R (San Diego

Room Tip: The two rooms we looked at were both impeccable and I have no doubt that all the room are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RichardC_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Good day, i am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Bethal. We are the last and best place to stay over before O R Thambo airport. Glad you used Gautrain and visited Gold Reef City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Clean and comfortable room. Friendly staff and management good over night accomodation excellent food both breakfast and dinner. Worthwile recommending to colleagues and friends. Thanks to Kevin and his team for a good 2 day stay.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank damino_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge

Address: 72 Chris Hani Street, Bethal 2310, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Bethal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bethal
Price Range: HK$429 - HK$539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need accommodation in the Bethal area?Come Feel the Comfort in the heart of the Highveld. The Lodge Bethal in Mpumalanga is conveniently situated less than 2 hours drive from OR Tambo International Airport on the new N17 main route to Sodwana and iSimangaliso Wetland Park (Greater St. Lucia Wetland Park). This luxury lodge is also midway between the Kruger National Park and the Drakensburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing