We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Die Groen Koei BB(Bethal)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
26
7
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
7
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent accommodationdouble bedhostlodgebookingqualitymealstopmorning
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The Lodge is exceptionally well maintained. Friendly staff and good management. The food exceeded all expectations. This was a last minute booking which turned out to be a blessing in disguise. A perfect place for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank paddie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you very much, it takes a special eye to see a gem.
We always do our very best to comfort a guest as it is not
always comfortable for a guest not to be at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Our last night after spending 5 weeks in Southern Africa was spent at The Lodge. We were welcomed by the proprietor Kevin to the perfect place to rest before making our final approach to O. R. Rambo Airport for our return flights home.

This was a sanctuary for us after our weeks of travel in some pretty gritty places. The location allowed us the advantage of being a short distance (only 2 hrs..)from the airport thus avoiding Johannesburg. the room was beautifully decorated and the restaurant was superb. The proprietor Kevin put together an insightful itinerary for us which allowed us to check our rental car in and fill our day with some final sightseeing using public transportation rather than waiting around the airport all day. We could not have possibly come up without such a plan.

Thank you Kevin. We appreciate you efforts. What a great host.

T & R (San Diego

Room Tip: The two rooms we looked at were both impeccable and I have no doubt that all the room are great.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RichardC_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Good day, i am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Bethal. We are the last and best place to stay over before O R Thambo airport. Glad you used Gautrain and visited Gold Reef City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Clean and comfortable room. Friendly staff and management good over night accomodation excellent food both breakfast and dinner. Worthwile recommending to colleagues and friends. Thanks to Kevin and his team for a good 2 day stay.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank damino_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Second time around and just as good a year later. Excellent accommodation and superb meals.
A great choice for accommodation when staying overnight in Bethal area. Quality and his value for money with safe off-street parking.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sheridan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

The whole set up is great with beautiful surrounds and great rooms which are designed with privacy in mind. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with a large flat screen TV screen. All facilities are supplied in the rooms and I can certainly recommend this establishment

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hendrix2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeBethal, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Thank you for the great review hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews