We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
39
7
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
7
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hidden lake off grid solar power national wildlife refuge nearby lake surrounding mountains west yellowstone horseback riding fly fishing trout jake laurel generator hosts miles lodge mattresses
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Are you an avid birder? Do you have a 4-wheel-drive vehicle? Not afraid of miles of bumpy dirt roads, an isolated location, and more than a few mosquitoes in the region? Then Elk Lake Resort is perfect for you! It's a simple, small, scrupulously clean, rustic, cozy place on the shores of a narrow, quiet mountain lake... and, boy, does it feature really GREAT food and even really great sheets! (Yes, their sheets are super-high-thread-count and so smooth to the touch, and their pillows are puffy and superb.) The three of us stayed in Cabin One, a 2 bedroom, 1 bath rustic place that was perfect for our needs. The shower was good and HOT with excellent water pressure. The beds were perfect with mattresses fitted with a 'temper'-type covering. Smoke alarms and wall heaters in each bedroom. The only thing we'd change about Cabin One was to provide a much bigger wastebasket (!) Owner-Managers Jake and Laurel DeLong are simply superb... so friendly and helpful and accommodating... and the food was out of this world --- huge portions, so fresh and good. We strongly recommend that you only travel in a 4x4 vehicle to Elk Lake Resort and the nearby Red Rock Lakes National Wildlife Refuge --- you'll be glad you did...

Room Tip: All of the cabins we peeked into were lovely, but only one features two separate bedrooms, if that is an issue to you.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heanyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkLakeResort, Owner at Elk Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us! Yes, it is a commitment to get all the way out to Elk Lake, but we agree with you the payoff is huge. You just can't beat the natural beauty of the area...even if you have to suffer through a few mosquito bites to enjoy it! We'll look into getting a bigger wastebasket. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Snowmobile trip to West Yellowstone. We rode out to Elk Lake for lunch on day 3. Amazing ride through gorgeous country. Had lunch at Elk Lake and felt very welcome by the hosts! An amazing spot in truly the middle of nowhere!!!! HIGHLY recommend visiting in summer or winter!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank thigginsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkLakeResort, Owner at Elk Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

We're glad you had a good time! Thanks for coming out and even more thanks for the great review. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Its remote, it is basically off grid. The lodge runs off of solar and generator power. You will be driving a long ways on a gravel road, your car will get dirty. If any part of the previous sentence is unappealing to you, than don't go. If you love looking at a star filled sky untainted by any ambient light, meeting people from all over the world sitting next to you at a dinner that is unbelievably good and too much of, than this place is for you! Dog friendly, our 2 border collies entertained many playing chukar and just being ( some what behaved) puppies. Cabins are small, bed and bathroom only, that may be my only complaint. Will we go again? oh yes!

Room Tip: you have 7 or 8 cabins to choose from, call ahead and ask what suits your needs
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank taz2758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkLakeResort, Owner at Elk Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Thank you for your candid review. Having driven the road to Elk Lake so many times, we sometimes forget how much of an adventure it presents to those unfamiliar with Montana back roads. We're glad you had a good time and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Surprised my husband last Christmas with a 4 night trip for our family. Some drove, one flew and we all arrived with a plan to fish and have family time.

OH..MY..GOODNESS. ..where do I start?

Jake (super quick witted ) and Laurel (super sweet...not that you aren't Jake), are WONDERFUL and GRACIOUS hosts.

Our guest house was cozy and warm for our family of 6.

THE FOOD....out of this world delicious!
We ate all 3 meals there everyday, tried new things and loved everything there was. The dining room had other guests that added to the laughter and joy of the trip.

The lack of cell service WAS A DREAM COME TRUE for this mom. We had time to talk, play games, do puzzles ... as a family, WITHOUT interruptions.

The fishing, lake and scenic views just calmed our souls. Even the first two days of rain, although it made for two cold fishermen, didn't dampen our spirits.

I would recommend this to everyone!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank mmccomb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkLakeResort, Owner at Elk Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Mary, you are so sweet! We enjoyed your family very much...so much love between all of you. And now you have a new grandbaby on the way to add to the joy! Thank you for the warm and generous review and we hope you come back sooner rather than later. Hugs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Situated about an hour off Hiway 20 in Idaho, this beautiful hide-away is quite the place, pretty much year round. Rustic, but adequately equipped cabins in an environment of mountains and lakes, excellent for hiking and fishing. The drive is on mostly rough road; you take it really easy if you want to spare your car. At one point you cross the Continental Divide into Montana at 7100 ft elevation. Can encounter deer, elk, skunk, owls, other wildlife, also lots of cows and horses. The owners are personable and accommodating, and while the conditions may be very rustic, the food is 4 star!! Basically no internet or cell service; electricity provided only by a generator and solar power. There is a landline phone. We were there for a wedding and what a setting for a wedding!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkLakeResort, Owner at Elk Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

We had so much fun hosting Blake and Sarah's wedding and meeting all their friends and family. I dare say Elk Lake has never hosted such an international crowd! Thank you for such a nice review and we're glad you enjoyed the food. It's a pleasure serving great people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews