We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotel Website
Trip.com
US$1,337
View deal
Expedia
eDreams
Agoda.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (3,208)
Filter reviews
3,208 results
Traveller rating
3,079
88
30
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,079
88
30
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no shoes japanese restaurant overwater bar our honeymoon man friday sea restaurant marine biologist villa suite robinson crusoe chef hari six senses fish wine cellar sun deck barefoot luxury the resort manager boat traffic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 3,208 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2021 via mobile

A wonderful place - impossible not to fall in love with Gili. Everything was great, but the things that really stand out are: (1) cycling barefoot through the trees to get around the island - a lovely, relaxing experience; (2) the food - breakfast in particular is incredible, but everything was outstanding, especially the buffet nights; (3) the people, the service, the friendly, informal, relaxed vibe; (4) the villa (great design, spacious, enjoyable, with lovely features like the outdoor shower and the private sea space; and (5) the snorkelling.

As others have said, the outside world is getting closer to Gili, so you do see a few ships, planes, buildings on nearby islands. But that doesn’t detract in any way from the sense of peace, calm and beauty in Gili. We had an incredibly happy few days there, and can’t wait to go back one day.

We were on Jetty 2 - a bit more sheltered when it’s windy than the other jetties. Villa 31 (with plunge pool) felt perfect to us, at the end of the jetty - was hard to imagine a better villa.

Thankyou for wonderful service from the staff - especially Thasleem, Aslam, Sharif and Makif - but every single interaction was a pleasure. This is not traditional, slightly distant high-end service - it’s far more friendly than that, and it helps to make Gili very special.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank guspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew Senyard, Guest Services / Front Office at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2021

Dear guspark,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Gili Lankanfushi on your visit to the Maldives, and for sharing your review of your stay with us.

It seems from your review that you had a great time and I'm so pleased to read about our team members who left you feeling so welcome and at home. I will be sure to recognize those whom you have mentioned and share your review with the whole team because I know that they will love the feedback.

As you said, the outside world is creeping closer, but I am glad that you were able to relax and enjoy the beauty of Gili's natural surrounds regardless.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to enjoy another dose of Gili's barefoot luxury someday soon.

Sincerely,

Matthew Senyard - Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2021

We are frequent visitors to Gili and loved this visit as much as all the others. The experience overall is amazingly good in every aspect and the staff are superb, yes all of them. The only comment I would make is that when the weather is poor, like very strong winds etc then some of the water excursions might be modified, shortened or even postponed to ensure the guests get the maximum value and experience.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fungasafari2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew Senyard, Guest Services / Front Office at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2021

Dear fungasafari2016,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Gili once again, and for taking the time to share your review.

It was certainly a pleasure to meet you during your stay, and I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything as much as you had your previous visits. Thank you also for the feedback regarding the water excursions in poor weather, I will work with the teams here at the Resort to see how we can modify them to make them more comfortable and enjoyable for all.

I look forward to welcoming you back and helping you to write another chapter in your Gili story soon.

Sincerely,

Matthew Senyard - Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2021

We are just finishing our visit to Gili Lankanfushi and I can’t praise the resort and staff enough. From beginning to end, we were pampered by our Ms Friday, Naff. She was so personable, positive and full of energy. She made sure all of our needs were addressed and met promptly and gave us unparalleled, personalized service. She elevates the bar on five star service.

The staff were all fantastic. Matthew, the resort manager, was present and engaging. The head chef visited us personally every day to check on us. Everyone here clearly takes pride in Gili and in their customer service.

The food was wonderful. This definitely is a foodie destination. The sommeliers elevated the dining experience and made great recommendations. The Asian street food market was a highlight.

We really enjoyed the layout and design of the Overwater Bar. It never felt crowded, the drinks were excellent and it is a great place to watch the sunset with a cocktail and a snack.

I sustained an injury and was well cared for by the on-site doctor and nurse, Damanti. I was also touched by everyone’s sincere concern for me and their well wishes for my quick recovery.

I was unable to dive but my husband had a very positive diving experience. The spa was excellent and the accommodations were great.

If you are looking for a trip where everything is taken care of and you feel totally pampered, this is a great destination. Although expensive, you get what you pay for.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bethmS9083EF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew Senyard, Guest Services / Front Office at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2021

Dear Beth and John,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your time at Gili Lankanfushi, it means a lot that you have taken the time to post while you are still on vacation!

The entire team will be delighted to read just how much you both enjoyed your time here at Gili, despite your injury and not being able to dive together. I will be sure to share your review with the entire team and ensure that Naff and Damanti are reconized for their care and attention.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future, and I look forward to diving with you both then!

Sincerely,

Matthew Senyard - Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2021

Beat trip ever!! The beaches and views of the Maldives are unique and like nothing we’ve ever seen. Gili Lankanfushi and ther staff made sure we had the most amazing trip ever and we are truly thankful for all they did to make sure we had a memorable trip.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vacation29757611170
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew Senyard, Guest Services / Front Office at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2021

Dear Vacation29757611170,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your time at Gili, we are so glad to read that you had such an amazing time here and left with some great memories to keep with you.

I sincerely hope that we can welcome you back one day soon, so that you can enjoy some more barefoot luxury with us.

Best Regards,

Matthew Senyard - Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2021 via mobile

A long awaited third visit to a very special island. It is truly barefoot luxury with a lovely relaxed atmosphere and no pretensions. Covid delayed our return for 18 months but it was worth the wait. As always we have eaten too much as the food is so fantastic. Asian street food market, Indian cuisine, and the Japanese restaurant are all delicious, not to mention breakfast! . Everyone who arrives says it is the best food they have ever had in the Maldives. We have only been to Gili and do not plan to go elsewhere after finding perfection here. Our Mr Friday, Fiyaz is amazing and always makes us feel like we are at a home from home, whilst making sure every element of our stay is delivered to the highest standard with no detail left unturned. Every single member of staff could not do more for you and always have the most wonderful smiles to greet you. The snorkelling, diving, tennis, yoga, spa all add up to make this a holiday to remember. Thank you to the whole Gili team for yet another amazing trip. We look forward to returning with the family.

Room tip: Make sure to find out all the activities on offer before you arrive as time goes so quickly when you are there.
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank emmat810
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew Senyard, Guest Services / Front Office at Gili Lankanfushi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2021

Dear emmat810,

Thank you for choosing Gili once again. A while between visits yes, but they do say that good things come to those who wait.

I am so happy to read that this most recent stay didn't disappoint, and that you were able to enjoy the many wonders of Gili, including the many culinary delights on offer.

It also makes me very happy to hear the sense of 'welcome home' that you feel when you return to Gili, the sense of familiarity and family is something that we pride ourselves on creating, particularly our Mr. and Ms. Fridays! I will be sure to pass your feedback to Fiyaz and share too with the entire team.

I cannot wait to welcome you back for some more barefoot luxury with the family soon.

Sincerely,

Matthew Senyard - Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews