We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
52
37
22
9
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
37
22
9
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog parkdeluxe cabinswimming poolfamily rentedbig righorseshoe pitsordered pizzawi figreat campgroundkansas citystayed one nightclose to the airportbathhouseplattelaundrygrandkidsreunion
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017

It's a large, clean place for RV camping, but as other reviewers have said, the spaces are EXTREMELY cramped. You have one small strip of grass between each RV. Our 30 foot trailer took up the entire pad so we had to park both our cars up in the lot and walk a long distance to them each time we needed something rom them. Very inconvenient. This also means, if your neighbors are loud, you don't have any distance between you to muffle their noise.The pool is very small and during the weekend during the summer, you basically swim elbow to elbow with people. There was no one monitoring the pool, so a bunch of couples brought in beer and drank it right in the pool.

The campground accessibility for wheelchair users was very uneven as well. There is an accessible bath house with two accessible restrooms--the showers have a sizable lip. There's also a step to a pool and one to the store as well and no designated handicap parking spots. All of this is easily remedied and would make it a much more accessible environment for campers.

Would still stay here if passing through the area again, but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cindyo382016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Basswood RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for camping with us during your recent trip to the area. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not completely satisfied with the site that you were assigned at check-in. We do have a number of different styles of sites at our resort and would have been more than happy to have accommodated you to another site pending availability. We hope that you had a pleasant stay overall and we wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We enjoyed our night here. It was quiet and beautiful. We had a great view of the lake. The bath house was nice...especially compared to others we've used. We would recommend staying there if traveling in your RV.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank CarolG4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Basswood RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

We appreciate your 5-star review, Carol, thanks! We're happy to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy a bit of nature during your recent visit! We hope you will think of us next time you're passing through!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We wanted to be close to Kansas City and Basswood was the PERFECT place. The campground is very clean. There is a very well stocked General Store. But our favorite part of the campground was the Dog Park. We are members of another resort RV park and do not currently have a dog park. We are going to suggest one now. Great Park and friendly staff. Hope to stay again soon.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank plendchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Basswood RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

We hope to see you again soon too! We are glad you enjoyed our grounds, camp store, and our dog park space. Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Our family rented an eight person deluxe cabin over Memorial Day. The facility is in a beautiful area and the staff is very friendly and efficient. There are lot of fun activities for families. The country store on site has everything you need including fresh made pizzas and the prices are very reasonable. We found the shower house and laundry to be clean and easily accessible.
However, the campsites and cabins are EXTREMELY close and cramped. By the time you park your vehicle, there is very little room to sit or eat outside. Although our cabin slept eight, it was definitely not comfortably. The two double beds in the loft were simply two mattresses on the wooden floor with only about four feet of standing up room. And, our particular cabin was totally infested with ants. Thankfully, I had been prepared by having all of our food in sealed containers. It would be a good place if you are RVing or tenting, but not if renting a cabin.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Ilovethehuskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Basswood RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Kansas City area. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the area and that our staff was so friendly as well as efficient. We do have many different types of cabins and rooms on the property, some of which offer more space than others. Many of our guests can often be found near the pool or lakes and find the extra room available in those areas of the park to be great. We definitely want to ensure our cabins are free from ants, though, and have passed along your comments to our management team. We'll do our best to ensure that this is resolved for future guests. We do hope you will consider coming back to see us again, and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

This park has seen better days. Infrastructure is aging: Wi-Fi is unusable, laundry washing machines are operational at 37%, water leaks from the hose bibs, swimming pool gear is inoperable. On the plus side, the swimming pool was clean, the club house well appointed, the entertainment enchanting and the store well stocked. Staff customer service excellent.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Taylor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Basswood RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Taylor, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Kansas City area. Please accept our sincere apologies that you found some of our amenities to be less than perfect. We are always striving to improve our services wherever possible and have passed along your concerns to our management team for review. We do hope you will come back to give us another chance to impress and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews