We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just no”

Hickory Log Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Dexter
Price range: US$5 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Family owned and operated restaurant specializing in Bbq, also featuring a full menu and bar. Open dining room all day, reservations only taken for banquet rooms.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here today with my fiance because we never get to have lunch together. The food is very overpriced and they were out of all steaks except hamburger. Fiance ordered hamburger steak and it was just a pre-packaged patty. I ordered chicken and it was just a frozen breast with a smidge of seasoning. I make better at home, and I can't cook! I tried the table bbq sauce to improve the chicken and it was like water and so gross! It was just a very disappointing visit. We left $40 poorer and still hungry. I've heard great things about this place and the decorations were beautiful, but the food was horrible!!!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank jessicahX7798OB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2020

food was nasty not enough help took them forever too get the food to everyone they new for at least 2 weeks or more we was coming not going back

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank K199LJjohnnyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020

My husband took me out for my birthday and he talked me into going there, even though I didn't want to from our last experience there. The atmosphere was okay, we sat in the bar area back room. I ordered a fish sandwich with onion rings and he ordered a fish platter. The fish wasn't even close to Mrs. Paul's but definitely a packaged fake fish, same with his. I ordered lettuce on my sandwich, wasn't put on there, had to request it again, they brought me out a saucer with slimy slaw type lettuce, not for a sandwich for sure. Onion rings were so nasty I couldn't eat them, sent them back. The only thing that was good was our waitress. We tipped her good because she was awesome. We will never go back, beware, their food is absolutely horrible and very very pricey. We would have been better off going to a fast food restaurant. We have given them more then a chance, 3 strikes your out!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dontworrybehappy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruiser07310018984, General Manager at Hickory Log Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2020

I’m sorry you didn’t like anything. We never want an experience like yours to happen. That’s not why we are here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2020 via mobile

Just a nice hometown local restaurant with good food. Staff seemed disinterested in serving two 40 year old men. However ribs and brisket made up for it.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 60nickg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2019

Atmosphere is all this place has. I have tried it 3 different times because everyone kept telling me I must have caught them at a bad time. Well, there will not be a fourth time I assure you. Eat here if you must. Good luck!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marksH2470PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hickory Log Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hickory Log Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Hong Kong SAR
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.