We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$59
View deal
HolidayInn.com
US$59
View deal
Agoda.com
US$58
View deal
ExpediaUS$59
Hotels.comUS$59
ZenHotels.comUS$63
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
367
276
106
35
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
367
276
106
35
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive room coach party the ground floor would stay again coach trip breakfast was buffet style course dinner both mornings lady on reception booked this hotel reception area comfy bed stayed one night weekend break full english main course yogurt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 802 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2022

Got a deal off Groupon, Sun/Mon night total £98 with Prosecco thrown in. On arrival, published rate was £149 which seems aimed at business travellers. Big room, big bed, good sized bathroom. Few minor issues in room with some electrical items not working but no great problem. Had 3 course dinner on Sunday for £22 each, not bad quality.
Breakfast was buffet style and had everything you would expect, hot and cold food, hot and cold drinks. Staff were friendly. No charge for car parking. For what we paid, very impressed.

Room tip: Try Groupon for best last minute/week offers.
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evansm19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2022

Hi evansm19,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Daniel Lawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2022 via mobile

We enjoyed an overnight stay here in a pleasant, well equipped room in a quiet wing on the ground floor. Reception staff were welcoming and very helpful. We had a one course evening meal in the restaurant one fish and chips with mushy peas and one Beef Bourguignon with mash and vegetables. Both meals were served piping hot and were good portions, we had a bottle of Prosecco to accompany the food. Restaurant staff were pleasant and efficient. We had a comfortable bed and had a buffet breakfast the following morning. The hot food was constantly being topped up but they were struggling to keep up refilling one or two items in the other part of the buffet as it was fairly busy, a minor point but something which stood out as everything else was to a good standard. We are very happy to recommend this hotel to others staying in this area and would certainly return.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bdon257
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2022

Hi bdon257,

Thank you so much for your very thorough review of your stay.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you do book to come visit again!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest regards,

Daniel Lawson
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2022 via mobile

Have stayed in this hotel at weekends for the last four months as our daughter is in hospital in Middlesbrough. Honesty you could not pick a better hotel, the rooms are always fauless, and I mean cleaned to perfection. The best part of the hotel is undoubtedly the staff, they really are first rate, always friendly and have a smile for everyone, they are the ones who go the extra mile for the guests and always make your stay an enjoyable one. So if your looking for a hotel that is spotless, this really is a great choice. Too many staff to mention individually, but we can't speak highly enough about you. Many thanks and if management are reading this your staff really are a credit to the hotel.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 601frazerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2022

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

It has genuinely made my day reading these comments. I know our entire team are very fond of you and your family and they are excited to see a new booking from yourselves.

Every single member of our team should be very proud of themselves for the service they provide.

We look forward to seeing you all again very soon!

Kindest regards,

Daniel Lawson
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2022 via mobile

The temperature was uncomfortably hot and air conditioning did not work. Could open Window but as on ground floor and no security latch it is not safe to leave open.

What is unforgivable however is advertising on the IHG website that pet cost is £10 per night and then being charged £20 on arrival stating the policy had changed a couple of months ago. If you want to charge £20 then update your website but it’s fraud to advertise one fee and charge another. I will now be expecting a refund.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank whatd0ikn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2022

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

I apologise that there was a fault with your air cooling unit. If you had informed Reception, we would have happily moved your room until our Maintenance Manager had inspected the unit.

All of our windows have a security latch on them. I have personally been into every single room to ensure this. So I am not sure as to what this is referring to.

Indeed, our pet policy did change a short while ago. The website has been updated to reflect this. You were refunded whilst you were at the hotel for stating the fact that the website had not been updated.

Again, thank you for your time and comments.

If you stay again in future, please contact me and I will take care of your reservation personally.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2021

We stayed here in August as a stopover to Edinburgh. As soon as we Arrived we did not get a warm welcome from staff however we were so tired we just wanted to go straight to our bedrooms. on arriving to the bedrooms We could immediately smell urine all around the room. We dismissed this as we assumed it would probably go however the smell was there the entire night!
The beds were very uncomfortable, and the place all over was very outdated with broken furniture.
We could not wait to leave! breakfast was terrible absolutely no choice for vegetarians :( staff were very moody not at all helpful.
This was the first ever holiday inn i have had such a bad experience in and i will never return. Id advise premier inn 100% as its clean and comfortable

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 346abzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2021

Hi 346abzi,

Thank you for your recent feedback.

I am disappointed to read your comments, did you contact reception at all about any of the concerns that you have raised? I'm sure that our team would have been more than happy to help.

As you can see from prior reviews, this is not normal feedback, particularly concerning our team.

I see that this is your only TripAdvisor review too. Were you compelled to create an account and leave a review directly to ourselves based on your experience? I would like to locate your reservation.

Please contact me directly on daniel.lawson@hidarlingtonnorth.co.uk so that we can discuss your issues.

Thanks,

Daniel Lawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews