We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHIP ISLAND TOURS CLOSED OCT 2017”
Review of Ship Island

Ship Island
Ranked #3 of 41 things to do in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

After hurricane Nate visited us on the Mississippi Gulf Coast, damage to the Gulf port office and the Ship Island piers, tours are not offered for the remainder of the tourist season. Please call the office for further information. Please do visit other attractions along the gulf coast.

Date of experience: October 2017
13  Thank ZeroBoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fort massachusetts"
in 33 reviews
"snack bar"
in 40 reviews
"day trip"
in 44 reviews
"ferry ride"
in 21 reviews
"chairs and umbrellas"
in 19 reviews
"ice chest"
in 10 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 21 reviews
"clear water"
in 14 reviews
"concession stand"
in 10 reviews
"snack stand"
in 5 reviews
"wear shoes"
in 5 reviews
"fort tour"
in 4 reviews
"only accessible by boat"
in 4 reviews
"long boardwalk"
in 4 reviews
"rolling cooler"
in 4 reviews
"national park"
in 6 reviews
"barrier island"
in 5 reviews
Filter

41 - 45 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

The ferry ride is nice and a straight shot out from Biloxi, there's some snacks and drinks on board. The island itself is very beautiful, with a long boardwalk to get you from one side of the island to the other. The beach wasn't crowded at all. There's lots of crabs, but they run away. The kids loved it. When we went (mid August) there were a lot of comb jellies and something in the water that caused most of us to be itchy, even under our swim suits, but only in the water. The fort is cool to walk around. All in all a very pleasant experience.

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank Jeremy_BK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This is the second time I have been to Ship Island and I will go back again. The ride out is a little slow, I wanted the ship to go faster :) But we had a wonderful time.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank Dena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

It was a nice boat ride to island ,but get there early and you can set were ever you want,the island is very relaxing place to visit.

Date of experience: July 2017
4  Thank Ronaldwolkens504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I rode the ship from Ship Island Excursions out to the island. The island is serene and absolutely breathtaking. Fort Harrison is fun to explore. I recommend the ranger tour (it's free). Wonderful history here. The beaches are beautiful. The water was a little murky which made snorkeling a challenge. One of the rangers told us it was especially murky because of all the rain they've had the past couple of months. Nevertheless, we saw stingrays, crabs, countless fish, jellies and dolphins! We rented the chairs and umbrella for $25. I highly recommend doing so as shade is limited. Make sure to bring sunscreen and lots of water. The snack bar/gift shop does sell items at a fairly reasonable price and they're food is good. I also recommend strapped sandels (like chacos or Columbias) or water shoes. Flip flops aren't that great in the sand and the sand is HOT, especially the black sand. My husband has two blisters. There are two pavilions for shade and eating, with restrooms. There's also a freshwater, outdoor shower by the beach on the south, or gulf, side. Lifeguards were present at that beach, as well. Definitely would like to visit again. This was the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary.

Date of experience: August 2017
6  Thank hcazzell74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ship Island also viewed

 

Been to Ship Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing