We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Part of Winona History

Winona, Minn., is a cultural and historical treasure too few people know about, and the J.R... read more

Reviewed 26 November 2018
moeneditor
,
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Nostalgic Visit to Watkins Museum

Nicely perserved historic J.R. Watkins artifacts from the 150 years (1868-2018) in the museum... read more

Reviewed 3 October 2018
Tim K
Read all 90 reviews
  
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
37
40
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
40
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stained glass hand cream office building wonderful products brings back memories woman working great stop gift shop worth a quick stop interesting place to visit interesting history on display for sale great displays step back in time high quality vanilla
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Stopped in on a Saturday for a quick 30 minutes visit. The free, self guided tour of the museum tour was a step back in time. It is interesting to compare the modern packaging and products to the old packaging and products. Grabbed a few practical items at the gift shop and we were on our way. Love the beef gravy! Don't forget to check out the floor! So cool!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank WoodsyGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

It doesn't look like much when you walk in, but it quickly takes you back in time as you delight in the old bottles and tins of the products of yesteryear. Take the time to read them and be entertained! The woman who waited on us was, like the rest of the Winonaites we encountered, wonderfully friendly and talkative. I purchased more products than I intended because they were charming and useful. Yes I could have found them online or in another store closer to home, but it was much more fun to buy them at the source.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank DOCJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

A definite stop on Winona. The history and product history here are worth viewing. Of, and it's a free stop unless you decide to purchase one of their fantastic products!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank brendae744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

We stopped in because we enjoy any kind of museum, and this one was free, so it was even more appealing. This was a nice small museum in a cool historic building that gives a thorough timeline of the Watkins company. We enjoyed learning about this historic Minnesota company that is still in operation today, making products we've used without even realizing they originated in Winona. It was nice to be able to sample some products at the end and have the opportunity to purchase some at the gift shop on the way out.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank mom2sophiebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

I've known Watkins forever. My grandfather retired from the company in the 70's. What an outstanding company with an incredible history. The best of the best products.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank theiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews