We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing and special night out! They also had BREAD PUDDING---Oh my!!”
Review of JD Hoyt's

JD Hoyt's
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 22/04
20:00
Ranked #27 of 1,745 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Warehouse District
Cross street: 3rd Ave. North
Transit: 2 blocks north of the light rail and North Star train
Reviewed 28 February 2021

I will just briefly comment on the overall experience since everything was SUPERB!
Old time supper club with a bit of a modern twist-music track was great-I had a glass of wine but we mostly saw martinnes of every color go around-food (huge, thick juicy pork job which also describes the huge New York Strip (I got mushrooms with mine), both perfectly cooked and juicy throughout the entire piece of meat- medley of vegetables were sautede just right- we ordered two dinner salads which were very fresh-garlic cheese bread came with it, would have prefered just a bread basket-all employees top notch- server was beyond professional and attentive (left a 30% tip) wish I would've caught his name to give him the credit he deserves)-dessert---bread pudding (which is a RARE dessert option anywhere) was huge and out of this world (custard like sauce with fresh blueberries, raspberries and strawberries on top)- we got street parking close by so we skipped the valet parking ($10)- Would definitely go back and will recommend to everyone who wants a special night out-spendy (just the bill was $150) but with how terrific everything was we thought is was worth it. Make your reservations now!

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2020

Great place in the heart of Minneapolis. My only problem if very long menu although if you know what you want it is not difficult and the staff if very helpfull. It was great this time, 5 y ago and 10 y ago.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank astrasport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020 via mobile

7 of us dined there this past weekend. The restaurant brings you back to the days of Frank Sinatra and the rat pack. Classic old school steak house. From the moment we arrived, the service was outstanding! Drinks, appetizers and the main course was fantastic! Would highly recommend this to anyone going to Minneapolis.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank jdn607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020

Who wants to order something called Pig Wings at a fancy business dinner or when trying to impress a date? At least call them Pork Tenders or Bone in Roasted Pork. But, whatever you call them I'm telling you the Pig Wings have some of the most flavorful barbecued pork you're ever going to have.

I also love the grilled prime rib, which is baked like traditional prime rib and then finished on the grill. It's unique and a great change of pace.

So, my recommendation is to have the Pig Wings as an appetizer to share for the table and then indulge in the grilled prime rib for the main course.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank EngelkingCGMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2020 via mobile

Excellent atmosphere and delicious, unique dishes. Buddy bowl, tenderloin tips, onion rings, pulled pork, and wedge were all top notch.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank dheyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JD Hoyt's also viewed

 

Been to JD Hoyt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.