We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
110
100
19
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
100
19
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent restaurant visit volterra place to stay irma sisters accommodation countryside tuscany
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2014

This family business of a hotel and restaurant is the best place we have ever eaten. We visit Italy twice a year and have never found anywhere better than here. The service is excellent and quality and range and authenticity of proper Italian food cannot be improved upon. The wine list is extensive and excellent. The location is lovely especially for the beautiful towns of Volterra and San Gimignano and it is a must place to stop for food and probably accommodation also. Our Italian spoken word is not good but their spoken English is extremely good. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 14MikeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Our first night in this beatiful place turned around in a dissaster. We only have diner at this place so i could not review the hotel. The squid we ordered came out of the microwave and steak taste like my shoe, so hard and full of fat. As a recommandation we tried Mama's tiramisu This is only made of fake Cream and there are too many dishes on the menu so it isnt fresh. That explains the microwave stuf.

Date of stay: August 2014
4  Thank thomas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent three nights here in June. It was the sixth hotel we stayed at in Italy. Each experience was different. At €189 for three nights it was by far the most reasonable and interesting.
The decor is funky and dated, but that became part of the charm. As noted by a previous reviewer our bathroom tiles too were pink. So what! The bathroom was spotless, the towels and soap etc were great. There also seemed to be energy savings in mind. The thin honeycomb towels actually dried really well.
We asked for a room away from the road as my husband had a bad back and was suffering from a lack of sleep. We were accommodated.
The food was great. We particularly enjoyed the restaurant for lunch and supper; closed on a Tue. Breakfasts were good too.
If you are looking for a North American experience with fast efficient service, then maybe this hotel isn't for you. However, for a slower pace of life, and insight into how a family establishment works then I would highly recommend a stay.
We watched Sandra, Irma and staff work very hard to accommodate everyone. They are to be commended. The restaurant is particularly busy with local families. The large grounds mean that children could run off some energy.
Finally on our way to Ireland from Pisa, while waiting for a flight we received an e-mail saying that we had left an i-pad in the room. They made a tremendous effort to return it to us in Canada, even driving to a town miles away to Fedex it. We really appreciated their concern and efforts.
This is a hotel that grew on us. We would stay there again.

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nuala871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Molino D'Era from 19thJuly for 5 nights. We specially chose Molino D 'Era for its location as we had tickets to see Andrea Bochelli at the Teatro del Silenzio in Lajatico wbich was fantastic. Our stay at Molino great, breKfast had great variety of breads, cheeses, and delicious cold meats eggs of your choice also available. The restaurant is probably one of the best we found after spending 3 weeks across Europe great wines and well priced .The steak frorentine isthe house speciality, being inthe meat trade it is one of the best steaks I had ever had. Thank you to Irma and Sandra and their mother for a great stay.The rooms where above the average you would find in Italy and we were very comfortable would definitely recommend rhis Hotel and Restaurant Carl and Denise Steinmann South Africa

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CarlS2776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have visited this hotel twice and enjoyed both times. Lovely spacious family run hotel with great food and an extensive menu. Set in the Val D'Era it is the perfect place to visit Volterra, And Sienna and the lovely garden is a great place to relax

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christinaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews