We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service. Good Fish. Trophy House is in New Trier, MN 4 east of Hampton.”
Review of Trophy House

Trophy House
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Hampton
Restaurant details
Reviewed 20 April 2019

So we drove down from Minneapolis for one of their friday fish fries after hearing all about how good the Trophy House is rated.

The service from the host, bartenders to table staff were all friendly and very good.
The fish itself is very good. Steaming Hot (not left sitting to cool off before they bring the food out), Flakey and Moist, unlike some places you may go to.

The au gratin potatoes were okay. The tarter sauce - not so much.
The garlic bread was hot and toasted very nicely. The complaint at our table was that the garlic toast was made using garlic salt. Even for me who uses salt on almost everything - this was too salty. If garlic powder would have been used (if not using a real garlic & butter mixture) then that would have been pretty acceptable. But the garlic salt ruined it for us. I'm not sure how those on a low salt diet can even try some.

So the fish fry in itself was good, sides and condiments okay, to not so good.
Bottom line, would we make the 45 minute drive again. We really don't think so.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1_TravelerMidwestUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2019 via mobile

We’ve been coming here for years. The service is always great there fish is to die for.. You always have to wait on a Friday or Saturday night for probably an hour plus. But it’s well worth the wait. Very chatty atmosphere and happy place.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank sallys225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2019

The fish might be good, but the rest of it needs to go. The carpet moves!! Smells, If your not a regular good luck getting any service. Don't waste your time with this place unless your like 80 and have no taste buds left.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Superbox18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2018

Made special trip to Trophy House based on referrals, to celebrate family birthdays on a Sunday early evening. Tried fish Fry, roast beef specials. SLOWWW service! Dinner food was okay but had to ask bus boy for refreshing water, soad, & additional roast beef as waitress stayed in other room & seemed like she played with family that was there.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

I would never request this restaurant to anyone that was to have a decent time to wait for a 20,Table. The time for Main dish is 1 1/2 Hr. Other setting same Plate. (Fish Night) They were known by Frist Name and served with fast Food Service refills and deserts..,2 childerns allso, We left to Pay at bar as of no fish yet...They then found the Fish that was on the way. I payed the bill in Full. Did not take the box of food as I came to eat in a restraint. Prise of this ake was $34 + gas $8. BAD BAD RIPP-OFf-----are much nicer people out and not far down the road. If you wish a good Tim OUT PASS THIS OFF.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trophy House also viewed

Been to Trophy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.