We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
350
120
24
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
350
120
24
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caribou coffee cheesy hash browns canal park within walking distance waffles free appetizers awesome hotel up north meatballs fire pit free breakfast lake superior lake view restaurants and shops quiet at night other hotels board walk
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Canal Park Lodge is the place to stay when in Duluth. We love the extra large rooms with balconies overlooking Lake Superior. The beds are always comfy and the rooms are clean and smelling fresh. This hotel is never cheap but you are assured of a quality stay. We partake of the cash bar in the evening along with s’mores at the fire pit. The Lakewalk is perfect for getting to a number of awesome restaurants! If Canal Park Lodge is sold out, we don’t go to Duluth during that time! The only thing that needs to change is the breakfast. Same old breakfast for years. Time to change it up. We went out both mornings for breakfast.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank adolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thank you for your continued patronage and loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We had stayed here previously and returned recently when traveling through the area. The location - in the canal area but close to downtown, right on the water - is still great, and we had really good service. But: our room was starting to show its age. The loveseat was frayed and furniture was nicked and scarred. It desperately needed dusting. Nothing but the tops of the furniture had been cleaned in quite a while, leaving a thick layer of dust. Our room was in some sort of dead zone. WiFi didn’t work for more than a few seconds at a time unless you stood at the door. The nice desk person promptly brought us a router (there’s the great service), but that didn’t work either. The included breakfast was average for a hotel of this type, and when I reached down to scoot my chair to the table, the bottom of the chair, and therefore my hand, was covered with something sticky. At this price point I expect better.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JJTOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

I apologize that your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been. I will review your issues with the appropriate staff and we'll work on correcting the issues you mentioned. To help us retain your loyalty please contact me at jpaquette@canalparklodge.com so I can respond to you directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

This place was awesome. Staff very helpful when asked. we were there during there big high school hockey tournament. Loved the happy hour they had. very nice, clean, comfortable room. perfect view. Lots to do near this hotel on foot

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hi Tracy,
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for writing a review.
Happy to hear that you think we have an awesome place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

This Canal Park Lodge lived up to its reputation. It is clean, spacious, and well designed. The staff are professional and kind. The views of the city, Lake Superior, and the lift bridge are beautiful. The breakfast was delicious, and well organized. I cannot say enough good things about this place. Our family really enjoys Duluth. We hope to return soon to both the city of Duluth and this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Happyelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi Happyelm,
So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and plan to stay with us again.
Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Great location, clean rooms, nice staff. S’more ingredients available at front desk!!! Nice patio to relax on and people/lake watch with a cocktail. Ok breakfast, but could use some healthier choices like oatmeal or light yogurt. Was there for work, but will definitely be coming back with kiddo soon.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank TJA-Travel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi TJA-Travel9,
Thanks for staying with us while you were in Duluth for work. We look forward to your return visit with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews