We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
55
56
36
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
56
36
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harbor view room living area my husband and i small balcony within walking distance south beach enjoyed our stay bed was comfortable beautiful room memorial day weekend perfect location maritime museum hot tub long weekend noise downtown fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2014

In town on color tour and didn't realize it was Columbus Day in Chicago so no school monday .. the town and surrounding area was completely booked .. except this place had one room left, i was told it was 219 a night but when i got there it was 290 a night .. we were locked and needed the room so i took it anyway .. of course now i feel ripped off and resentful .. so maybe my review is tainted .. however we got to the two bedroom suite .. and first thing we found was that someone had gone to the bathroom in master bath and not flushed so .. yeh there was feces floating in toilet.. that set me off even more... the decor of the room was okay, however wires and cords were running everywhere .. tacky looking .. there was a plate of some sort covering pipes in main bathroom but it had come unlodge so it was just hanging there in hallway, there was only ONE waste basket in the whole place .. under the sink in kitchen area... the room was on the back side of main building .. there was a wooden deck that was small, two people couldn't walk next to each other... the walls were very thin .. we could hear the next room walking and talking, i was in main bath and heard the person in the next room sneeze ... so a lot of noise .. there were blinds on the windows but we had an outside light shinning right in so it lite the whole place up .. now the two bedrooms you could close the door but if you were sleeping on pull out couch in living area it would be tough .. the place had a small dorm type refrigerator and a small microwave .. a miniature coffee pot .. and the dishes ..were all mis matched ..there were 3 water glasses and a wine glass... ugh .. so for $313 a night it is quite the rip off.. no hotel parking you park on the street or public lots where you can find it, no pool, no hot tub, no nothing .. i wont be back.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank holtdmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2015

Clearly this situation as described is unacceptable. We apologized and discounted the guest when the issues were brought to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Stayed the weekend at Old Harbor Inn. The room was definitely in need of updating. The balcony was barely large enough for two chairs. The part of the blinds to swivel to close was missing from two windows. The screen was ripped in the sliding door leading to the balcony. The internet connection was sporadic at best and as another reviewer has stated, contacting the front desk was not easy. Even then, the response from the front desk was less than satisfactory. On the plus side, walked nearly everywhere while we were there. Shopping was fun and most restaurants were easy to find. In my opinion, this room was not worth the price we paid. If we do decide to return to South Haven, we will look for different accommodations.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2015

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Many guests enjoy the private feel of our top corner room, but admittedly it is as far as from our front desk you can get. We continue to upgrade our wifi, but at the time of your visit, your room's connection, which is the most remote, may have been spotty, which unfortunately our front desk staff cannot control. We hope you give South Haven another try soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2014

This is a really nice hotel bang in the middle of everything that this charming town has to offer. wouldn't look any further if I were you.Clean rooms, friendly staff and a couple of waterfront bars serving good food within 2 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldguysrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2015

We appreciate all of our guests, but we particularly like hearing how our international guests enjoyed their stay at Old Harbor Inn and their experience in our home, South Haven. So many times first time guests who have never seen a Great Lake, are amazed. We have something special here in South Haven, and we like sharing it with guests from all over the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2014

We stayed here during the Blueberry Festival, and I am so glad we did. It was such a blast! Not only is York's Landing in the hotel but The Idler river boat and a new dock type bar are right there in Old Harbor Village. There is a movie theater with in less than a block. Walking to either beach is a breeze as stroll along the river & over the draw bridge (North Beach). There you will find Captain Lou's another place to enjoy nightlife.
The view is beyond beautiful. Sparkling water, sunsets, birds flying, the various boats, and even a pirate ship that offers sunset tours!
The room was not the one we wanted because a wedding party had booked it before we could but still very clean, comfortable, and well appointed with that fabulous view. I do think it could use some upgrades but we didn't mind we were too busy enjoying all South Haven has to offer. They mentioned that with the nightlife it could be noisy until midnight. We didn't find noise to be a problem at all. The pool wasn't huge but was so warm I couldn't believe it. Having stayed at many hotels this is not the norm.
We will defiantly be back, and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank luvthesun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

Blueberry Festival is a blast! All of our festivals are fun! They are also crazy busy, with the town packed with fun loving people seeking a good time. When you stay here you are in the middle of it all the fun and nightlife and can walk everywhere! However, if you join us for one of our festivals, we ask you to embrace the festive atmosphere, meaning you expect and accept more people and more noise which you may hear from some rooms until well after closing time at 2 AM. We want happy guests, and we try to be upfront about this as possible during as you make your reservation with us. If you want to stay in the heart of all the action and want beautiful harbor views, we are for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stopped into South Haven when visiting friends in a nearby town and booked a room for one night without a reservation. They were very accommodating, the price was reasonable (Thursday night in August), and it is quite convenient to local attractions. On Thursdays (maybe every Thursday in the summer?) there is a local venue/open music festival in the evening just down the road and within easy walking distance, we walked to the beach, and enjoyed the riverboat restaurant/bar which was directly outside of our window. It is a nice place to stay, very clean, and we would stay here again. It is within the city area and walking distance to many restaurants, bars, shops, and coffee.

The inn is located on the marina, our window looked out onto the boats in the marina. There is an indoor pool. Our only complaint is that they had a tough time managing the phone when we were trying to book the room and we didn't see the front desk manned.

We will stay here again. It is a nice place, convenient, and surprisingly quiet.

Room Tip: Choose a marina view -- this is one of the only places on the water.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Guest Relations Manager at Old Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Summer Thursdays are a great choice! Enjoy lower weeknight rates, less crowds, and South Haven's free Riverfront Concert Series. Each week features a different genre, from classical, to pop, to jazz, and everything in between. It's fun and it's free. Just spread your blanket and spend an evening on the harbor. Then as the shadows lengthen, make your way to the pier as the sun sets slowly into the deep blue waters. Next, explore South Haven's nightlife, or simply turn in for the evening, as the twinkling stars come out as you walk back in the moonlight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews