We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn South Haven(South Haven)(Great Value!)
US$289
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express South Haven(South Haven)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Martha's Vineyard Bed & Breakfast(South Haven)(Great Value!)
US$185
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seymour House(South Haven)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
59
60
26
29
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
60
26
29
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubfamily reunionwooded areabit datedshuffle boardbeautiful sunsetthe king size bedroom was clean and comfortablefree breakfastrelaxing getawayyogurtget awaywe've stayedlong weekendfireplacedecksummer
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2015

The property sits high above lake Michigan with beautiful views. I gave it an average rating 3 out of five because although the rooms are decent and views are great the actual bed is like sleeping on a pull out couch mattress. For a room that costs almost $200 a night and considered a suite you should be sleeping on a premium mattress. Very uncomfortable sleep because of the mattress and the linens aren't much better. The owner should go spend a night at the Hampton Inn and take notes on bed comfort. The beds and linens at Hampton Inn make it hard to get out of bed because its so comfortable. Really for $200 a night the place is dated and needs to be renovated. The room smelled like bug spray and the windows were open when we entered the room. I killed about ten spiders in two days in there. Could be a phenomenal place if the owner did some updating.

Room Tip: Make sure you reserve on the upper levels for the best lake views.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTYIII1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Stayed here the first week of October. Place was very quiet, but a little dated. The arcade & rec center is great for about 1992 (Hadn't seen a 'Vigilante' arcade machine since about 1992.)

Best sunset I've ever seen. We sat outside & I just pulled up two nice lounge chairs where i wanted them. They had 4.

2-person jacuzzi tub & fireplace in room were great. Bathroom is tiny, but who cares.
Room was cleaned late in the afternoon which I found odd.

The location is just outside of town but not far at all. A nice state park is just as far south. So this is a good location.

It was the end of the vacation season so the town was pretty empty. It's a small place so parking in town would be tough at the height of vacation season. The town itself has few places to eat, but everyone is very nice. It's very quaint. My southern accent loved the 'HeyHowAreYa!' accent of the north.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

The grounds are beautiful, and right on the lake. It's close enough to town to walk in if you want to ditch the car. We stayed in one of the older rooms on the 'motel' strip- the beds were creaky and I could feel the springs each time I moved, they provided dispensers with soap instead of individual bars (which creeps me out) and the hair dryer wasn't going to do much for me, but the rooms were clean and large enough. They have picnic tables right outside of all of the rooms which is a great place to hang out, but can be a problem if anyone is smoking.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We have stayed at Lake Bluff almost every year since 1985. We find it the best place to stay in South Haven: lovely grounds, beautiful sunsets, great pool, space to play baseball and wiffleball and anything else. You can sit out on the lawn under the giant shade trees for hours, which is what we love to do. Some of the rooms are in the older buildings but are fine; those in the newer buildings are more deluxe (but priced higher). This is not a "luxury" hotel; it's a family-owned hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We rolled into South Haven late on a Saturday afternoon without reservations. We didn't look anywhere else, didn't want to bother. Place looked nice. Girl at the desk was pleasant. We didn't plan on spending much time in the room so we opted for the cheapest available, the rooms in a strip like a "motel". They were adequate. Had two double beds in poor condition though. TV worked fine. Microwave and refrigerator worked good. Window that opened had screens since we hate a/c. Room was basic accommodations. Breakfast was average. Located on a bluff overlooking Lake Michigan it was nice to walk around the motel grounds. Pool was still open and nice. Sunsets gorgeous. There is a newer 3 story building that looked nice from the outside but we couldn't justify spending a lot more money to stay in it. We rode our bikes into South Haven and to the beach and along the lighthouse pier and out the Kal-Haven trail. We ordered pizza from a place that delivered. Place is quiet we left our bikes on the back of our car overnights and no one bothered them. Free wi-fi worked fine.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews