We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
196
50
35
21
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
196
50
35
21
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews evening appetizers julee rosso other guests english garden small plates my husband and i vineyard room fresh flowers hors d oeuvres gracious staff wonderful food two nights public areas b and b the entire experience in town bed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Nothing to complain about here; another fine hotel/B&B for us during a three night stay. The Wickwood has the advantage of being in town, so no driving required for partaking in all that Saugatuck has to offer. Breakfast AND ALSO the late afternoon hor d'oeuvres were the best; unmatched by anything that we're aware of. Our room (the Matisse) was a small, clean, with superior decor room that was adequate for our needs. We much enjoyed our stay, and if our travels bring us here again, will happily return to the distinctive Wickwood.

1  Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

What a wonderful way to start a vacation, plus the added bonus of getting to know a great couple. Julie and Bill were warm and entertaining, which radiates inside and out at the Inn. With all the memory's I have of Saugatuck, they've pushed this one to the top. THX!

Room tip: This is where you go to relax and say aah!
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuleeRosso, Owner at Wickwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2015

Thank you so much for your kind words, Jeff!! It was such a pleasure having you with us and both of us enjoyed our chats with you enormously. Please come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Our 5 year anniversary-we spent our honeymoon here too. Very pricey but nice for a special occasion-great if you n guest enjoy out of the ordinary foods. Turns out my husband doesn't, so all the fancy, expensive cheeses n sausages n foo foo quiche were wasted on him.
Next trip, we will stay at a more reasonably priced hotel n enjoy some of the great restaurants ordering exactly what we like to eat. It was very comfortable, well decorated and friendly staff.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank LizC590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuleeRosso, Owner at Wickwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2015

We’re very pleased that your fond memories of your honeymoon at Wickwood brought you back for your anniversary. We hope that you had a good time!! We have many couples who return annually to celebrate with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. While we’re very proud of our Charcuterie board with its American Artisanal Cheeses, Batali Salumis and our own cheeses made in house, we understand they may not be to everyone’s taste. Hopefully your husband was able to enjoy some of the other complimentary offerings, such as, in the Evening: our Shrimp & Crab Crostini, Sausage Pinwheels, Artichoke Spread, Salmon Mousse, Roasted Vegetables, or Soup Sips. For Breakfast we often serve Vegetable Frittatas, but also Scrambled Eggs, Blueberry Bread Pudding, Pecan Sticky Buns, Homemade Coffee Cakes, Country Ham, Pistachio Sausage Patties, Popovers and a variety of Seasonal Fruits. We so love good food at Wickwood and it’s important to us to know that our guests enjoy it. We hope that we’ll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015

I stayed here for a few days last summer and was not impressed by anything about the place. Tacky room that was so poorly decorated we actually laughed out loud when we opened the door! The staff was very friendly, but the owner was arrogant and not very pleasant. $$$ Way over priced Inn. I would not stay here again for 1/4 of the room price. YUCK.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank SkiChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuleeRosso, Owner at Wickwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2015

Over the past 24 years, we’ve hosted many wonderful guests who have visited repeatedly and, day in and day out, they generously compliment us on our efforts. Therefore, we must admit, this review took us aback. We don’t want any of our guests to be surprised when they arrive at Wickwood. For that reason, our website has numerous photographs of the Inn’s decor, the guest rooms, our art and antique collections, the flowers both inside and in the gardens surrounding The Inn and the various sitting areas. Of course, our special passion is good food, and that is reflected throughout the day beginning with our Farm to Table Breakfast, Afternoon and Evening Sweets and our Evening Sips and Small Plates Hour. All are complimentary as we feel that local foods are such an important aspect of enjoying a new locale and that good food is an integral aspect of a great getaway. Our overriding goal is certainly to have each and every guest have a memorable visit, and that is what we strive for. We wish you well in your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Four of us spent Mother’s Day weekend at Wickwood Inn and I’ll just lay out pro’s and con’s.

Pro’s
- Beautiful home just one block down the street from the shops.
- The suites were large and decorated very nice.
- Bedding was soft and bathroom amenities were great (robes, hairdryer, etc.).
- The ladies running the Inn were all very nice and helpful.

Con’s
- At just over $400 a night per room, it’s quite pricey, which is why I’m going to be a bit picky about some of the little things. We did have suites, but rooms in general are expensive in my opinion.
- Yes, as people have mentioned, the bathrooms are very small, but not as bad as I was expecting based on other reviews.
- The fridge where they offer iced tea, water, etc. in the main area was always lacking in the water. Only once the entire weekend when we went to get a nice, cold glass of water from the container it was actually full. All other times it was empty and we saw other folks attempting to get some as well. Yes, we can get water from the tap, but it’s just the point---keep it full or have two containers.
- The afternoon cookies were nice, except, the chocolate chip (which is most people’s favorite) looked like tiny crumbs. We thought maybe it was just that batch. Nope, next day they were the same thin looking piece of crumb again. Didn’t even resemble a cookie like the other two they offered. Either make the actual cookie or don’t include it---just looks cheap.
- The first morning breakfast was ok. I’m just not a fan of goat cheese and that was included in the frittata. From the book, it indicated there would be scrambled eggs Sunday morning, so was looking forward to that. Plus, it was Mother’s Day, so thought maybe they would put a bit more food out for the occasion. They had sausage but no eggs---well, they did have hard boiled eggs out each day but who wants to peel apart a cold egg at the table. The coffee cake was good, but just needed more savory items vs. sweet on the table.
- When we left, my Mom wanted a cookbook as the owner of the Inn was also a chef and wrote a few cookbooks. So we went to buy one from them and it cost approx. $22 (which is the published price on back of the book). That was fine but you would think maybe the owner would sign each of them in advance with a “thanks for staying” or just a little generic note to make it more special than buying it anywhere else. Was very disappointed after returning home and found you can get the same book on Amazon for $15 

Again, some of my “con’s” are being picky as I’ve stayed at other B&B’s and I’m just comparing this experience and price vs. others. Would I go back? Probably not as I really didn’t think there was much to see and do in that area to warrant another visit or the pay that price. We also went to Douglas, which is right next to Saugatuck and to Holland. Not many shops at all in Douglas, so not even worth the trip unless you plan to eat at Wild Dog—was a very popular and great restaurant (less than 10 min. drive from the Inn).

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaggy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuleeRosso, Owner at Wickwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2015

We’re delighted that you joined us for Mother’s Day Weekend, and we thank you for your compliments. You mention the Brunch that day, but we so hope that you were able to enjoy all of the complimentary foods that were offered during the weekend beginning with our Afternoon Sweets when you arrived, Evening Sips and Small Plates and then our Farm-to-Table Breakfasts. As many of our guests stay for 3,4, and even 5 nights, our menus do vary daily. We serve a number of rotating egg dishes including Scrambled Eggs, several Strata’s and Frittatas, as well as a number of very light Bread Puddings. I believe after several days of serving eggs that on Mother’s Day we served our Blueberry Bread Pudding with Spicy Blueberry Sauce, Pistachio Sausage, Artisanal Cheeses and Prosciutto, Pecan Coffee Cake and several Fruit Salads and Juices as well as our Granolas and cereals, yogurts, hard cooked eggs, and breads. On Monday morning, our guests did enjoy the Ethereal Scrambled Eggs. We love working with the freshest local ingredients and therefore the menus change seasonally as well.

It is true that our Chocolate Chip Cookies are bite-sized, generally 1 ½-2” in diameter. Over the years our guests have loved them, sometimes declaring a “crisis” if they all disappear. Of course, we’re always happy to make more!! And, we encourage you to taste each of the three other varieties that are offered on our two daily cookie plates. With just a word to our Innkeeper, we will happily refill the cookies, as well as our cold Water, Ginger Tea, Cappuccino, Fruit Juices, and hot Coffee and Teas Servers.

We’re pleased that so many guests want to purchase our cookbooks, and we do try and keep up with having autographed books on the shelves. It’s a continual challenge, but we’re also always happy to personalize them, if you speak with The Innkeeper who will readily arrange it.
There are so many things to do in Saugatuck and Douglas that we’re sorry you didn’t enjoy our many unique shops, artist’s galleries, exhibitions and studios, restaurants and cafes - some with live music, Tasting Rooms, golf courses, beaches, parks, gardens and paths. We’d love to have you return for another visit to see everything our villages have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews