We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK campground, but ...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Stayed here for several nights. Owner is a little TOO visible driving around in his golf cart and on occasion, right through our campsite on multiple trips ... hmm? Campground was noisy at night and the owner was NOT visible then. Facilities were OK (unfortunately they are short on full 3-way, serviced sites) so we had to use the dump station (OK). WiFi is terrible (bandwidth is severely limited and it is ridiculously easy to get disconnected and barred from using what little WiFi exists. Flies are plentiful ... you have been warned.

Room Tip: Book ahead as this campground is popular and well situated for exploring the U.P.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank TomGNorthport_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Sorry to say we do not have a golf cart at our location and we would not drive through our guest campsites. Making ourselves visible is what our guest appreciate the most. As for the noise you can hear a pin drop at 11:00pm here and we do walk at 11:30pm to make sure other guest privacy is being respected. After that time our guest could call the office if there is an issue and those issues would be handled accordingly. If you reserve late in the season your chances of reserving a Full Hookup is limited as those who plan earlier normally have those sites reserved. Our wifi is limited per guest as we provide a free service and pay for the GB's that is used. The wifi extends the whole perimeter of the campground and is via satellite and could have and interruption during weather just as your cable or internet could at home. Last but not least what little bit of flies were out were non existent by the end of June. You may have our campground confused with another place you may have stayed during your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

I want to start by saying the family running the place is extremely nice, very pleasant and accommodating. The camp ground is located 15 miles from the falls, and there is plenty to do in the area for families, please reference Tahquamenon Fall State Park's website for maps, trails, and activities. A couple issues that might be seasonal, include; a very wet campsite (but gravel parking), a under water fire pit, only a few full hook-ups, the wifi virtually doesn't work, and the cable is very spotty. A suggestion, if you get water and electric only, is to ask for the dumping cart to empty your full grey water. They do have a lot of activities for kids at the camp ground. The sites are great access for big rigs. A suggestion, book this place early to get a full hook-up.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank 984kevinq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Mother nature unleashed here wrath while you were here and did not have that type of rain all season. Any place that receives that much rain that fast is sure to have standing water, however it soaked in within the hour. We love grassy campsites and do not want to put gravel down. The cable TV works good and we have not had any issues since the cable company converted over to digital. Our wiifi reaches all the way to the back of the park and works good. The internal antenna's on individuals devices is the problem in cases where they can't receive it at a site. However, we do have the pavilion that someone could go to and connect very easy if they choose to. The full hookups get reserved early in the year and we intend on adding more. Even during the not so pleasurable temperatures or rain we strive to give our guest the best camping experience possible by providing them maps of things to do in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Stopped in with my family on a whim as Tahquamenon sites were full and were greeted with open arms! Had a great stay in an rustic campsite and very much appreciated the clean, stocked bathrooms and fire pit. If I had to be picky about something it is that you could hear the road still from the back of the park but had no complaints about the quality of the site or the people running it!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Regina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Hi there!! Thanks for taking the time to post a review, and we appreciate it! We try to always find a spot somewhere for folks who get "shut out" of other places! It also allows us to show those same folks who we are and what we do, in the hopes that you will come back and visit us again! As for hearing the road, I don't really know what to say, except that it's usually so quiet here by 11 p.m. that you can hear a pin drop. It has been a heavier than normal season here so there is more traffic out on the road, but generally the only traffic that comes by late at night are the employee's leaving work from the falls brew pub and restaurant, but I'm sorry if it disturbed you. We hope you will come back and see us again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

This was the 2nd year in a row that we stayed at Kritter's. The amount of improvements in just their second year were really nice to see. The new owners, Larry and Kathy, are some of the nicest people I've met. They are genuinely concerned that you have a pleasant stay at their campground. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay. The campground is quiet, the bathrooms are clean, and it is centrally located in the UP. Hoping to make this a yearly stop on my vacation list.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Craig H. thank you for taking the time to post a review, and such a nice one at that! We are working at making changes for the better each and every year, budget allowing. Thank you for noticing the ones that have been made already! We appreciate that you came back this year, your family is wonderful! Truly hoping that you are able to make this a yearly stop on your vacation list!! Thank you!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

It's a nice small campground run by a husband and wife. Both were very friendly. Nice and clean campground. Decent bathhouse and kept clean. The kids enjoyed being by the playground. Nice size lots and grassy. Laundry facility on site. Store very limited on what they carry.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank kdroste04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Hi and thanks so much for taking the time to post a review! We appreciate the kind words about our park! We try very hard to make sure the grounds and facilities are clean for our guests and we love it that you noticed!! And if you have any suggestions on what you would like to see in the store please email me at northcountrycampground@gmail.com, we are always open to guests suggestions, it is what will make us better than what we can be on our own! Thank you for staying and we hope you will come back again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins

Address: 13209 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Newberry
Price Range: HK$585 - HK$859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located to the Eastern Upper Peninsula attractions! Not only do we provide lodging but we also have a very nice, modern campground to service everything from tent campers to big rigs! For our camping guests, we are a Good Sam park which entitles Good Sam members to a 10% discount! Lodging guests will realize a savings by staying longer than 4 nights. Camping season runs from Mother's Day weekend to October 10th. The Little Lodge is open thru snowmobile season. We hope we can be a part of your Upper Peninsula experience! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing