We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
56
13
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
13
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspictured rocksawesome ownersplayground equipmentnice placedump stationsoo lockstahquamenon fallsupper peninsulacamping experiencefor saleshipwreck museumtheir websitewithin an hourgrocery storelake superiorwhitefish pointoswald's bear ranch
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

I want to start by saying the family running the place is extremely nice, very pleasant and accommodating. The camp ground is located 15 miles from the falls, and there is plenty to do in the area for families, please reference Tahquamenon Fall State Park's website for maps, trails, and activities. A couple issues that might be seasonal, include; a very wet campsite (but gravel parking), a under water fire pit, only a few full hook-ups, the wifi virtually doesn't work, and the cable is very spotty. A suggestion, if you get water and electric only, is to ask for the dumping cart to empty your full grey water. They do have a lot of activities for kids at the camp ground. The sites are great access for big rigs. A suggestion, book this place early to get a full hook-up.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank 984kevinq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Mother nature unleashed here wrath while you were here and did not have that type of rain all season. Any place that receives that much rain that fast is sure to have standing water, however it soaked in within the hour. We love grassy campsites and do not want to put gravel down. The cable TV works good and we have not had any issues since the cable company converted over to digital. Our wiifi reaches all the way to the back of the park and works good. The internal antenna's on individuals devices is the problem in cases where they can't receive it at a site. However, we do have the pavilion that someone could go to and connect very easy if they choose to. The full hookups get reserved early in the year and we intend on adding more. Even during the not so pleasurable temperatures or rain we strive to give our guest the best camping experience possible by providing them maps of things to do in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Stopped in with my family on a whim as Tahquamenon sites were full and were greeted with open arms! Had a great stay in an rustic campsite and very much appreciated the clean, stocked bathrooms and fire pit. If I had to be picky about something it is that you could hear the road still from the back of the park but had no complaints about the quality of the site or the people running it!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Regina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Hi there!! Thanks for taking the time to post a review, and we appreciate it! We try to always find a spot somewhere for folks who get "shut out" of other places! It also allows us to show those same folks who we are and what we do, in the hopes that you will come back and visit us again! As for hearing the road, I don't really know what to say, except that it's usually so quiet here by 11 p.m. that you can hear a pin drop. It has been a heavier than normal season here so there is more traffic out on the road, but generally the only traffic that comes by late at night are the employee's leaving work from the falls brew pub and restaurant, but I'm sorry if it disturbed you. We hope you will come back and see us again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

This was the 2nd year in a row that we stayed at Kritter's. The amount of improvements in just their second year were really nice to see. The new owners, Larry and Kathy, are some of the nicest people I've met. They are genuinely concerned that you have a pleasant stay at their campground. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay. The campground is quiet, the bathrooms are clean, and it is centrally located in the UP. Hoping to make this a yearly stop on my vacation list.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Craig H. thank you for taking the time to post a review, and such a nice one at that! We are working at making changes for the better each and every year, budget allowing. Thank you for noticing the ones that have been made already! We appreciate that you came back this year, your family is wonderful! Truly hoping that you are able to make this a yearly stop on your vacation list!! Thank you!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

It's a nice small campground run by a husband and wife. Both were very friendly. Nice and clean campground. Decent bathhouse and kept clean. The kids enjoyed being by the playground. Nice size lots and grassy. Laundry facility on site. Store very limited on what they carry.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank kdroste04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Hi and thanks so much for taking the time to post a review! We appreciate the kind words about our park! We try very hard to make sure the grounds and facilities are clean for our guests and we love it that you noticed!! And if you have any suggestions on what you would like to see in the store please email me at northcountrycampground@gmail.com, we are always open to guests suggestions, it is what will make us better than what we can be on our own! Thank you for staying and we hope you will come back again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We had a great stay. The campground is reasonably priced and very clean. The owners plan fun activities for the kids and are very accommodating. We were very pleased with our stay and would recommend Kritter's Northcountry Campground to others traveling to the UP.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank lydia5042015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Hi, thanks so much for taking the time to post such a nice review of our park! We are always pleased to know that families had a great stay with us! You all were here for "Kids Day" and I think the kids had a blast! We try to have some activities for the kids and some for the adults as well. I know your family was here when we were just extremely busy and so we are even more appreciative that you noticed that we work hard to keep everything clean. We hope you come back and see us again one day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews