We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
65
14
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
14
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice place pictured rocks playground equipment local attractions dump station central spot soo locks tahquamenon falls camping trip for sale a great stay shipwreck museum their website within an hour friendly owners whitefish point two nights
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2016

The sites are a little close if you not the friendly type. The bathrooms were stocked and cleaned. The area was clean and the owners/workers were quick to help with the local sites. The small playground with a close laundry room is nice to keep an eye on the kids.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Hi Angela, thanks for taking the time to post a review! I'm not sure what site you were on but overall our sites are quite large with most of them being between 35-45 feet wide and 70 feet long. There are a couple of sites that are closer together than that, but are still very spacious. The tent sites are all 80 x 80 as well. Our playground is a work in progress since we purchased the park last year. We have added the sandbox, the peddle merry go round and the geo dome for climbing. We hope to add something else next year, but you are right, it is close to the laundry room so you can see the kids! We work very hard to keep the bathrooms clean for our guests so thanks for noticing that, we appreciate it! We hope you will come back and see us again one day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Nice little campground. No sewer hook up at most sites, no pavement on any site, and internal roads are gravel. That being said, I'd stay here again without question!! Nice folks run the place and keep it well maintained. Most sites are shaded, but there are open site lines on many sites for satellite TV. Spacious areas for walking pets including a nice nature trail. We left each day for an adventure away from the RV. We were confident the RV and our pets were secure and safe. If you're going to be in this area this park should be at the top of your list for places to stay!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Herv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our park! We strive to give everyone the best U.P. experience that we can. We are looking into adding more full hook up sites next year, and as you can imagine the ones that we do have go very fast. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time here with us! Hope you come back and visit again one day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We stayed at this campground making it a base camp from which we explored some of the east central part of the UP. The owners, Larry and Kathy, maintain a quiet and clean RV park and are full of useful travel information. Their sense for customer service is outstanding even when tested by shortsighted customers, present company included.
We will most certainly return and stay at Kritters.
Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hvillerot62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Hi, thanks for your review, the kind words and taking the time to post! I'm not sure what happened that you consider yourself "shortsighted" however we try our best to make sure our guests are happy and satisfied no matter what it takes. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and all worked out for the best!! And you are welcome for the great time, we hope to see you again soon!! Thanks for staying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Decided to head north instead of south this year for our annual June vacation. Found this campground on the Good Sam website and decided to give them a try. Owners are great and the facilities are well maintained and bathrooms clean. Power supply to the sites is great and the water pressure and quality is good too. As stated (this goes for anywhere in the U.P. in June) - bring plenty of bug spray or call ahead to find a season when the bugs aren't as bad. This is some of the most beautiful scenery in the nation people! They are conveniently located in a central location for day trips to places like Lake Superior, Taquamenon falls, Paradise Michigan, Newberry, Grand Marais, indescribably beautiful Pictured Rocks National Shoreline, Miner's Castle, Oswald's Bear Ranch, Toonerville Trolley, Pine Stump Junction, and other places that you should not go through life without seeing at least once. Saw a bald Eagle dip down into the water to catch a fish and my girlfriend caught a northern pike at Perch Lake. Perfect trip and perfect peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a glowing review! We do agree with you on the beauty of the U.P. for sure! So many undiscovered and unseen places that are just breath taking! We are so happy that you discovered so many of them!!!! Yes, June can be buggy for sure, last year we had no black flies but more mosquito's, so I guess it is a trade off some years. We have sprayed cedar oil several times, it is supposed to take care of the bugs, but I guess nothing will kill everything. It sounds as though you had a great stay regardless and that is wonderful news!! We hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

This is a small, quiet campground with lots of full hookup sites but also spaces for rustic camping. Owners very friendly, on site, attentive. They had some ladderball and horseshoes available that we played with. Very pretty, large sites with mature trees. Everything is clean and well-maintained. Owner delivered our firewood to site. Nice large dog run area and some nice trails (use your bug spray!). Very convenient to Tahquamenon area...not many options if you want full hookups.

Negatives:

Wifi is basically useless (however maybe a break from technology is a good reason to go to the UP!)

They have utilities for every two sites right together. Convenient for them when they installed, but awkward to have to face your awning toward your neighbor's awning. They will NOT let you turn your camper the opposite way. Last year we hated it. This year we traveled with my parents in a separate camper and it worked well to face each other.

Despite the minor negatives this is overall a really nice place and we enjoyed our stay both times! We will be back again I'm sure!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kristy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

Good morning! Let me first begin by saying, thanks for staying twice in a year! We appreciate it, and you taking the time to post a review. I would like to take the opportunity to address some of the issues you stated that you had. First, the WiFi does work, quite well actually, but not on phones. Laptops and tablets have a bigger internal antenna than a phone, therefore they work better. I'm not sure what you were using, but we do try to let people know that phones just don't have the same ability. But you are right in your comment of maybe taking a technology break is a good reason to go to the U.P. Also, the reason we cannot let you turn your camper so you can face each other is because it is the law. We would let everyone if we could, but the law states you must be pulled in correctly in case of emergency. Also we do have 7 sets of sites that face each other, it's just a matter of reserving early enough to get some of them. We have also checked the price for more full hook ups, hopefully those will be coming soon. Thank you for your kind words about us and the park, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews