We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and quiet campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We had a great stay. The campground is reasonably priced and very clean. The owners plan fun activities for the kids and are very accommodating. We were very pleased with our stay and would recommend Kritter's Northcountry Campground to others traveling to the UP.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank lydia5042015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Hi, thanks so much for taking the time to post such a nice review of our park! We are always pleased to know that families had a great stay with us! You all were here for "Kids Day" and I think the kids had a blast! We try to have some activities for the kids and some for the adults as well. I know your family was here when we were just extremely busy and so we are even more appreciative that you noticed that we work hard to keep everything clean. We hope you come back and see us again one day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2016

The sites are a little close if you not the friendly type. The bathrooms were stocked and cleaned. The area was clean and the owners/workers were quick to help with the local sites. The small playground with a close laundry room is nice to keep an eye on the kids.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Hi Angela, thanks for taking the time to post a review! I'm not sure what site you were on but overall our sites are quite large with most of them being between 35-45 feet wide and 70 feet long. There are a couple of sites that are closer together than that, but are still very spacious. The tent sites are all 80 x 80 as well. Our playground is a work in progress since we purchased the park last year. We have added the sandbox, the peddle merry go round and the geo dome for climbing. We hope to add something else next year, but you are right, it is close to the laundry room so you can see the kids! We work very hard to keep the bathrooms clean for our guests so thanks for noticing that, we appreciate it! We hope you will come back and see us again one day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Nice little campground. No sewer hook up at most sites, no pavement on any site, and internal roads are gravel. That being said, I'd stay here again without question!! Nice folks run the place and keep it well maintained. Most sites are shaded, but there are open site lines on many sites for satellite TV. Spacious areas for walking pets including a nice nature trail. We left each day for an adventure away from the RV. We were confident the RV and our pets were secure and safe. If you're going to be in this area this park should be at the top of your list for places to stay!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Herv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our park! We strive to give everyone the best U.P. experience that we can. We are looking into adding more full hook up sites next year, and as you can imagine the ones that we do have go very fast. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time here with us! Hope you come back and visit again one day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We stayed at this campground making it a base camp from which we explored some of the east central part of the UP. The owners, Larry and Kathy, maintain a quiet and clean RV park and are full of useful travel information. Their sense for customer service is outstanding even when tested by shortsighted customers, present company included.
We will most certainly return and stay at Kritters.
Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hvillerot62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Hi, thanks for your review, the kind words and taking the time to post! I'm not sure what happened that you consider yourself "shortsighted" however we try our best to make sure our guests are happy and satisfied no matter what it takes. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and all worked out for the best!! And you are welcome for the great time, we hope to see you again soon!! Thanks for staying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Decided to head north instead of south this year for our annual June vacation. Found this campground on the Good Sam website and decided to give them a try. Owners are great and the facilities are well maintained and bathrooms clean. Power supply to the sites is great and the water pressure and quality is good too. As stated (this goes for anywhere in the U.P. in June) - bring plenty of bug spray or call ahead to find a season when the bugs aren't as bad. This is some of the most beautiful scenery in the nation people! They are conveniently located in a central location for day trips to places like Lake Superior, Taquamenon falls, Paradise Michigan, Newberry, Grand Marais, indescribably beautiful Pictured Rocks National Shoreline, Miner's Castle, Oswald's Bear Ranch, Toonerville Trolley, Pine Stump Junction, and other places that you should not go through life without seeing at least once. Saw a bald Eagle dip down into the water to catch a fish and my girlfriend caught a northern pike at Perch Lake. Perfect trip and perfect peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a glowing review! We do agree with you on the beauty of the U.P. for sure! So many undiscovered and unseen places that are just breath taking! We are so happy that you discovered so many of them!!!! Yes, June can be buggy for sure, last year we had no black flies but more mosquito's, so I guess it is a trade off some years. We have sprayed cedar oil several times, it is supposed to take care of the bugs, but I guess nothing will kill everything. It sounds as though you had a great stay regardless and that is wonderful news!! We hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins

Address: 13209 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Newberry
Price Range: HK$586 - HK$860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located to the Eastern Upper Peninsula attractions! Not only do we provide lodging but we also have a very nice, modern campground to service everything from tent campers to big rigs! For our camping guests, we are a Good Sam park which entitles Good Sam members to a 10% discount! Lodging guests will realize a savings by staying longer than 4 nights. Camping season runs from Mother's Day weekend to October 10th. The Little Lodge is open thru snowmobile season. We hope we can be a part of your Upper Peninsula experience! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing