We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice private campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Stayed two night at Kritters. Was touring Upper Michigan. Their price was very reasonable for a site with water and electric. The owner checked me in and was quite friendly and helpful. The facilities are clean and well cared for. It is also a Good Sam campground so if you are a member you get a 10% discount. I would definetly stay there again if I had the opportunity.

Room Tip: It is a campground so you need to bring your own room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SFF727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate it more than you know. It always makes us so happy to see that our guests had a great time in the U.P. and a great stay with us!! Your words go a long way in letting future guests know that we do strive to keep a clean campground as well as tending to our guests needs. We hope you come back again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

We had a great time, we stayed five nights. The campsites are very big compared to the state parks. The bathrooms were the cleanest I have seen. Larry and Kathy were great owners and made sure we had a great time. They are very knowledgeable of the area attractions and made our trip great. My parents even stopped by for a night and had nothing but great things to say. We had some rain and with a 2 year old this can be hard, but they pointed us in the screened in pavilion and she was able to run and play while staying dry. It is a great location for my near by attractions as listed in their website. They even have a laundromat. Our new favorite camping spot.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Thank you so much for the review Mark P.!!!!! We really enjoyed meeting you all, and the baby is just the sweetest thing ever!! I'm sorry you had to endure some rain, I always hate that when we have guests here. It was our pleasure to meet you all, and we really hope you will make it back one day soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015

We have stayed here twice now, once when it was still Clementz northcountry campground, and once now with the new owners. It is still an awesome place to stay! We stayed for a long weekend, and it was so nice and quiet. Also in a great location to go see lots of sights in the U.P. without being gone ALL DAY! Keep up the good work guys!!! Love staying with you!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelamad5382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, and such a nice one as well. We were very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, the new owners. It was so great of you to come back and give us a chance!! I have to agree, this park is in such a super location for lots of things to see and do without being gone all day. Thanks again for the review and come back and please come back and see us next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed 2 days in one of their cabins- very quaint and perfect for my husband and I-(even though there was a set of bunk beds, next time we'll bring the grandkids) Was in a great location for fall color touring and visiting the surrounding areas such as pictured rocks, munising, tequamamnon falls, white fish point and many hiking trails.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Reegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Thank you for the review! It's nice to see that you enjoyed your cabin! It is always such a good feeling to know that our guests enjoyed their time with us. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. And yes please next time bring your grandkids!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Watching the trees change from green to glowing red
from our site was a welcome change from the usual asphalt parking lots
Centrally located between local attractions.
Spacious drive thru sites.
All the great usual amenities .
Fantastic owners / managers
Thanks for the memories

Room Tip: Sites facing away from the general park are bests
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazybearEscapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyBartolomucci, Owner at Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Thank you for the review! We are so happy that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed it here! Those leaves were amazing weren't they? They are just starting to fade a bit now. You are very welcome for the memories, we do hope you can come back and see us again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
13.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
37.0 km away
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
#1 of 2 in Naubinway
58 reviews
13.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Newberry
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kritter's Northcountry Campground & Cabins

Address: 13209 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Newberry
Price Range: HK$586 - HK$859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located to the Eastern Upper Peninsula attractions! Not only do we provide lodging but we also have a very nice, modern campground to service everything from tent campers to big rigs! For our camping guests, we are a Good Sam park which entitles Good Sam members to a 10% discount! Lodging guests will realize a savings by staying longer than 4 nights. Camping season runs from Mother's Day weekend to October 10th. The Little Lodge is open thru snowmobile season. We hope we can be a part of your Upper Peninsula experience! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing