We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
84
40
39
31
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
40
39
31
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tub on the roofcouples massagefrench roomfrancoisfixturescollege
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Waste of money! No elevator. We stayed in the Dutch room...room was HOT even with the air on, and the room beside us the guest were FREEZING. The bathroom cold water faucet didn’t work, the hot
Faucet dripped. The bed was very soft BUT ever time you moved the bed made creaked so loud that the people next door could hear the noise. The breakfast was a joke! They make a copy of your id and credit card for their file...I have never had a place do that.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank stevesQ3431QP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, I apologize that you were not informed of these things. We would appreciate speaking with you about your stay more in depth if you reach out to us. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

To start, let me say that the staff was very friendly and tried their best with what they had.
On the down side: We were shown to our room which had a sign on the shower indicating it did not work because of the age of the pipes. (Never mentioned on their website). We were given another room and soon discovered that the only way to get cold water is to use the under sink shut-off. The hot water faucet also leaked when in use.
We ate at the on-site restaurant and the food was mediocre at best. The steak was mushy. We had mentioned it was a birthday dinner on the reservation and also on the Open Table reservation however no one acknowledged it so it was lucky I brought a candle to stick in the dessert. Definately not worth the money they charge to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Don, thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the miscommunication about the room, however, we do have all room information posted on our website. We hope to see you again for a second chance. Please reach out to us if you would like to discuss issues with your stay with us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I booked 5 rooms for a girlfriends' getaway last week. Unfortunately we encountered several problems during the stay. In the Dutch Room there was NO COLD WATER. Apparently the entire faucet was broken. The front desk was told on day one to no avail. The occupants, after a lengthy discussion with the front desk and/or manager, were finally offered a $40 credit after staying two days in a room without cold water. I stayed in the Italian Room which prominently advertised a 13-head shower. On the shower door was a sign stating that the shower hasn't been operable since 2012, quite a disappointment. I also took the Wine Connoisseur's Tour ($99.64/couple) , looking forward to going into an actual wine cave. While the tour of the castle was informative, and the wine tasting with cheese plate was good, when asked about the tour of the cave, I was told "we only do that on weekends". The bar is also only open on weekends. Since you can't bring liquor into the hotel and the bar wasn't open, we had to buy their $30+ bottles of wine. NONE OF THESE DETAILS WAS DISCLOSED TO ME WHEN I BOOKED THIS TRIP. In addition, there was construction going on during our stay. While maintenance on a building this age is expected, we certainly didn't expect to see 3 men, including the owner, walking and talking on the roof outside our windows (none of the windows, including the bathroom, has anything but sheer curtains). One friend occupying the Maple Room was napping and one of these 3 guys actually knocked on her window! In the Victorian Room there is a shower which encompasses the whole bathroom including the toilet with a drain in the middle of the room, yuck. While some of these quirks can be seen as quaint, they should be disclosed on the website and problems should be addressed immediately upon hearing of them. That didn't happen here.

Stayed: June 2018
2  Thank kathyc1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Kathy, I apologize for the miscommunication related to your rooms and wine tasting. The Henderson Castle is a very old building and does, as you stated, have many quirks and we do our best to accommodate our guests despite some oddities. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night to celebrate his birthday. We were in a small room, but beautiful, and we're very excited for our evening. We had massages together, which were fantastic complete and champagne and strawberries. Soaked in a hottub privately for an hour, (not the rooftop tub, unfortunately as the roof is under construction. Real bummer, but necessary renovations!) And then headed back to our room to get ready for dinner and bed broke when we sat down! The lady at the front desk (I wish I could remember her name) was so sweet and put us in another (BETTER! BIGGER!) room. We were so grateful. The bed was huge! We had a fantastic stay here and we plan to come back for dinner and wine tastings/tours! Thank you!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback Jessica! We are so glad you had a great experience with us despite the small complications. We hope that you return for another memorable stay with us at the Henderson Castle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Some friends gave my husband and I a couples hot tub and massage package as a special gift. The hot tub was newer with good jet pressure, and the tub had properly balanced chemicals so it was not heavy with chlorine. The private atmosphere was pleasant. The massage therapist were very polite, respectful and provided excellent massages. We had a wonderful, relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynbuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flmoyet, Owner at Henderson Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad that you and your husband enjoyed your couple's massage here at the Henderson Castle! We hope you return to make more memories together with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews