We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
FindHotel
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,123)
Filter reviews
1,124 results
Traveller rating
718
269
71
40
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
718
269
71
40
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riverside bar cocktail bar travelzoo deal the pub lovely hotel hotel restaurant main restaurant lake district spa bath reception area roaring fire fine dining borrowdale valley beautiful location lovely room weekend break bar next door
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,124 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A beautiful hotel, lovely room and super soft comfy bed. The staff in both the hotel and Riverside Bar were amazingly friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.The food was absolutely first class, both dinner and breakfast were without doubt amongst the best we have had in any hotel or restaurant. The hotel and bar are both dog friendly so we all had a fabulous stay. We will definitely be going back!

Room tip: We stayed in Barnes Wallis suite which was lovely
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 370jaynej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2021

Simply amazing .. just a beautiful place to stay surrounded by snow capped mountains and breathtaking scenery ..
The food to perfection , presentation ,quality and taste of every course just gorgeous and truly made with love from an experienced chef who knows exactly which combination of tastes work within each dish .
Blown away with the warmth and hospitality of lovely staff who could not have been more accommodating during our stay !
Our room was warm and spotlessly clean with traditional furnishings mixed with a modern and fresh bathroom and a deep bath tub and plenty of hot water ! The bed was huge and so comfortable we both slept like babies .
Having no service on our phones was not a big deal infact we turned them off and enjoyed uninterrupted conversation which is a rare thing in todays society !
Truly nothing to complain about and loved every minute xx

Room tip: Mountains surround the building we were at the front and our views were breathtaking ..
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneE1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday weekend and had the best time. Super comfy bed, generous room size, luxurious jacuzzi and shower, food to die for, roaring fires and walkers heaven abound...would definitely recommend

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank KathRog581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020

This is the third time we have stayed at the Scafell which I think says it all. A beautiful hotel, amazing and accommodating staff, great food and drink and the most peaceful and scenic location. The staff went above and beyond for us, treated our dog as if he were a VIP (which he of course is to us!) and although all the current guidelines were adhered to, they were so subtlety done, it really felt like a break away from reality.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank NatalieMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2020

Disappointed with recent visit to Scafell hotel
Booked pre covid and was told by Andrew that they would
Offer a midweek break special including dinner and breakfast for 3 nights
When we arrived we were met by a grumpy receptionist
Who said there was no way we would have been offered
That deal and laughed and said not at those rates !
I rebooked our break as the hotel had closed due to covid restrictions in March - the booking was made in feb .
We ended coming sep 17th -20th and were told upon arrival this was not the deal
The room was tiny and claustrophobic / no way was it a double room - single with a very small double bed put in
With no room to move - room 26 . Did not want to argue
Anymore with rude receptionist as we were tired
Real shame as overall great trip and stunning location
And rest of staff and guests lovely
My husband has been here previously but it seems to have
Changed
Misleading booking
Tiny room
Uncomfortable small bed

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank suzy702015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews