We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

Gritty McDuff's - Lower Main Street
Ranked #16 of 62 Restaurants in Freeport
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Description: Gritty McDuff's, Maine's Original Brew Pub specializes in hand-crafted English style ales and traditional and creative pub fare, in a friendly and fun atmosphere. Both Gritty's fine ales and the pubs have won countless "best of" awards through our twenty-six years of operation. Our standard brews are session beers, Gritty's Pub-Style Pale Ale, McDuff's Best Bitter, Black Fly Stout, allowing one to have multiple beers within a reasonable time period without overwhelming the senses. Our seasonal and varietal ale offerings are more adventurous, some with a higher ABV, and some with higher IBU. We brew a beer for all craft brew palates. For the diner, we offer traditional pub fare alongside not so traditional specialty items. Our pub-style long tables with benches easily accommodate parties of all sizes and add to the camaraderie.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

We had lunch after shopping in Freeport. My parents shared the corned beef Ruben and the corned beef was not very plentiful and dried out. My son got the kids pulled pork which was also dried out. I had the chicken tacos which were bland. There was supposed to be an avocado sauce on it, but I could barely see the tiny drizzle that was placed on top. Our waitress was very sweet and attentive despite the restaurant being very busy.

Thank swadelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

We went to Gritty's on Friday to grab a drink and some food after traveling from south of Boston. We were pleasantly surprised by the availability of outdoor seating on such an awesome summer day. The waitstaff were very nice but perhaps not very seasoned.
We had their tacos and quesadillas and they were both really good.
We didn't have our kids with us but many families did and there is a large fenced in yard they can play in as well as a swing set. It's great for families. I'd definitley go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kdogmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gritty M, Public Relations Manager at Gritty McDuff's - Lower Main Street, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for taking time to write this positive review. So pleased to hear you enjoyed the recent visit, and we hope to serve you again soon.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

An awesome outdoor patio to enjoy some delicious pub food and cold beer with great service. There is a variety of local beer available on tap.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CurtisJoelTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gritty M, Public Relations Manager at Gritty McDuff's - Lower Main Street, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for the patio shout out - a long time favorite of many. We also greatly appreciate the shout out to our hard working staff. We hope to serve you again soon.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We love coming here for great food and beer! They brew their own beer and the food is a good price and large helpings.

Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gritty M, Public Relations Manager at Gritty McDuff's - Lower Main Street, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for this positive review. We are always pleased to learn when our hard work comes together to deliver a quality experience. We hope to serve you again soon.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Food was very good with a clam bake atmosphere. The server was good, quick and anticipated most needs. The only real downside is the lobster crackers and picks are plastic. Hard shell lobsters were a real pill to break open, and all of our plastic tools broke leaving parts inside the lobster. One of us asked, and then we were offered the old metal nut crackers, which solved the problem. We image they don't use the metal ines anymore since they probably end up in the trash, but it would be nice.....

Thank Concord Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gritty M, Public Relations Manager at Gritty McDuff's - Lower Main Street, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for the positive review and the suggestion regarding the metal crackers. Yes, metal is indeed ideal yet you are correct they get thrown out. We will discuss this issue internally.

We hope to serve you again soon.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gritty McDuff's - Lower Main Street also viewed

 

Been to Gritty McDuff's - Lower Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing