We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Terrible”
Review of Vega Tapas Cafe

Vega Tapas Cafe
Ranked #121 of 550 Restaurants in Metairie
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 16 May 2017

The sad thing is this place is usually so good but not this time.The soup was tomato and worse than a canned soup. No flavor. . The fish of the day was swordfish. It was overcooked, dry and just plain bad. The mushroom rice with it was not edible. We also had the mussels which were in chopped onions and not like any white sauce I have ever had with mussels. The shrimp dish was burned tasting. The service was slow, slow! Everything was disappointing. The worst meal I have had in a long time!!!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lvsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2017

We have visited this restaurant several times and the menu is creative and varied. The Atun del Coriader (seared rare ahi tuna) is a favorite that we hope is a permanent fixture on the menu. The Gambas (jumbo Gulf shrimp) are excellent. Skip the Patatas Bravas (potatoes), particularly if having Paella. This time was the first we were disappointed with the Paella--soggy rice being the downfall. Don't be afraid to try the house wines. They really do need to keep their bathrooms cleaner: the men's was horrific during our latest visit.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KrazyCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Perfect choice for friends or couples wanting to spend time together while enjoying a few drinks and delicious food.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

My girlfriend and I had dinner a this wonderful place. Seating arraignment was nice. The restaurant offered a great atmosphere with plenty of choices to pick from. We ordered the steamed mussels, pink caviar smoked salmon, and the chicken cordon blue soup. They were all fantastic and service was excellent.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traveling-fearless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

My kids' first introduction to tapas. They loved it! Everything we ordered was FANTASTIC! Waitresses were helpful.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank gwilsonmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Vega Tapas Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing