We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Destrehan Plantation
from US$102.00
More Info
from US$145.00
More Info
from US$71.20
More Info
from US$125.00
More Info
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
310
144
45
14
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
144
45
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thomas jefferson our tour guide gift shop historical society jefferson room the main house period costume new orleans river road explore the grounds great tour slave quarters louisiana purchase spanish moss live oak trees louisiana history oak alley
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018

This plantation is almost like a living history venue. It has the house, but has other cabins, barns, old tools, and lots of historical items. the interpreters are well versed and entertaining. The history is engaging. The grounds are well maintained. They did not beat you over the head with the slavery issue. If that's your interest go to Whitney Plantation. This plantation tour gives you a look at farm life. I wasn't going to go to this house, but I am glad I did. I recommend it.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

Evelyn our tour guide was excellent dressed in the period costume and very informative. Beautiful grounds and a great lesson in history thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would recommend this tour to everyone.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

We really enjoyed our tour of the plantation. Our tour guide was funny and informative. Really enjoyed hearing the history of some of the actual residents and slaves. The grounds and all the oak trees are beautiful.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank patriciaallman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The plantation was not too far from French Quarter and the price of admission was very reasonable.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This was the first of several plantation homes that I visited while in NOLA and was one of the best. The docent (in period costume) was very informative and personable. The house itself has been well maintained and it appears that they are installing an elevator to accommodate all visitors. There are several authentic slave cabins and outbuildings, but they had been moved here from other sites and sit closer to the main house than they would have been back in the day. The grounds have some ancient live oaks that are truly magnificent specimens of the species. Destrehan is close to MSY and should be on everyone's itinerary if you are visiting NOLA.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank 73Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews