We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Destrehan Plantation
from US$145.00
More Info
from US$125.00
More Info
from US$102.00
More Info
from US$155.00
More Info
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
307
145
45
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
145
45
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thomas jefferson our tour guide gift shop historical society jefferson room period costume the main house new orleans river road explore the grounds slave quarters great tour louisiana purchase spanish moss live oak trees louisiana history oak alley
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Well restored late 1700 plantation house with a few support buildings of the sugar plantation including summer kitchen. Very knowledgeable interperter and well kept grounds. Also enjoyed gift shop.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank dutter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

This Plantation is close to NOLA. The French history and political connections were very interesting. The guide was extremely good he dressed the period and knew a great deal more than the usual employees at these historical venues. We had a great experience and highly recommend it to history lovers.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Close to New Orleans, oldest plantation house still standing in MIssissippi valley. Amazing old live oak trees. Great guides--ours, Jim, was great about showing us details of the building's construction. The story of the estate gives honest window into the facts of slavery as well.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

If you are looking for a lesson in history and a nice excursion, Destrehen is not too far away and the guides are fantastic. Jeanette was very knowledgeable about the plantation history including details of the family and the slaves who worked there. She also did a great job of describing the surrounding history. We chose Destrehen because it was close to New Orleans (only about 25 minute drive) as compared to some of the other plantations. We were able to Uber there and the tour + wandering around took about 1.5 hours. The live oaks on site are also amazing.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank skye g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

The second plantation we did today and our tour guide, Beverley was fantastic. There were 12 people in our group and she remembered all of them throughout the tour. The house and grounds are very interesting. This one is a recommend as well.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank teddifax1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews