We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great plantation”

Destrehan Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
US$125.00*
and up
Destrehan Plantation and Large Airboat Tour Combo...
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Destrehan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1787, this is the oldest plantation house in the Lower Mississippi Valley.
Reviewed 24 February 2018

The second plantation we did today and our tour guide, Beverley was fantastic. There were 12 people in our group and she remembered all of them throughout the tour. The house and grounds are very interesting. This one is a recommend as well.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank teddifax1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"thomas jefferson"
in 24 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 82 reviews
"gift shop"
in 41 reviews
"historical society"
in 9 reviews
"jefferson room"
in 5 reviews
"the main house"
in 22 reviews
"period costume"
in 11 reviews
"new orleans"
in 114 reviews
"river road"
in 14 reviews
"explore the grounds"
in 5 reviews
"slave quarters"
in 18 reviews
"great tour"
in 32 reviews
"louisiana purchase"
in 8 reviews
"spanish moss"
in 11 reviews
"live oak trees"
in 7 reviews
"louisiana history"
in 7 reviews
"oak alley"
in 16 reviews
Filter

73 - 77 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2018

The staff and historians at the plantation were very helpful and passionate about this time. It was a great tour both my 13 and 14 year old girls enjoyed as well.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

My husband and I took a tour of Destrehan Plantation on 2/14. Being one of the older plantations, it was kept up very well. We had a knowledgeable guide who gave us an informative tour about the plantation and slavery. I liked this plantation because they kept the older, authentic, not so fancy furniture in the house. Another plus is they have an original document signed by Thomas Jefferson that you can view while there also.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank StephG8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Jeanette was our tour guide. Information she provided was very interesting and did a great job. Enjoyed learning about the Destrehan Plantation.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank tomr170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Friendly and knowledgeable tour guide whose presentation really brought you into the life on this plantation.
Excellent restoration of historical settings.
I only wish we could have seen some of the live demonstrations.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank HarryLJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Destrehan Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Destrehan Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing