We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
42
9
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
9
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Great place
Staff very accommodating let me check in late .
Very nice large apartment style room
Great breakfast !!!
Fantastic location right in the heart of the Winelands .
Would highly recommend !!!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We returned to stay after a three year gap. Very comfortable and well appointed rooms. Very friendly service from the staff and owners and nice walks in the vineyards. Compared with other similar places the breakfast could be more creative but otherwise a very nice place to stay

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank richardbP4788DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Great accommodation within the vineyards of Ridgeback wines. Large and well furnished room with well stocked bar, Dstv and Wifi. Good breakfast and coffee to follow at the poolside. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

False advertising. Pictures of the rooms depict baths in the bathrooms, yet there was no bath. Additionally, rooms are advertised as "twin room with twin beds," however when you arrive, they demand extra payment for 2 people to sleep in the twin beds. Not impressed.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank AshleyM4868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nesscole, Manager at Ridgeback House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Good afternoon
Re your comments expressed in trip advis0r, we would like to comment as follows.

We take the strongest exception to you accusing us of false advertising. Our rooms are clearly show as those with bathrooms or those with showers. We also do advise guests whether the rooms have twin beds or king size beds to give our guests a choice.

Our rates clearly state per person, you booked through a hotel booking site called Agoda, for one person and brought an additional person with you. I checked the Agoda sight and is also clearly states per person. If you have any problem, you should take it up with Agoda as we have the voucher sent by Agoda clearly stating one person.

You may be less impressed as we are taking this further.
Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Ridgeback House is a welcome oasis of peace and tranquility. We were warmly welcomed by Vanessa, our hostess.
The setting is beautiful - a home in the vineyards which can be rented as a whole or as separate rooms. Our bedroom was well appointed - loads of cupboard space, comfortable beds, a small patio with views over the vineyards and a well sized bathroom. The mini-bar was well stocked with the addition of a well-thought of basket of snacks which could also be purchased. An honesty bar was set up in the very comfortable sitting room and contained a range of wines, including those from the wine farm on which the guesthouse is situated.
A swimming pool is available providing welcome relief in the hot summer months.
Vanessa and her assistant provided us with a delicious breakfast - fresh fruit and yogurt, a choice of breakfast cereals, cold meats and cheese and the option of a cooked breakfast - the omelette was delicious.
Ridgeback House is well situated to visit nearby Paarl wine farms and not too far from Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EJS630907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews