We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia
US$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
ZenHotels.com
US$136
View deal
Preferred HotelsUS$159
FindHotel
Trip.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
206
41
11
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
206
41
11
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft suite des moines pool side fire pit beautiful hotel living history farm lobby bar boutique hotel iowa state renovation trash
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2021

This hotel is located a convenient area, right at Living History farm, great pubs and restaurants nearby should you want to eat elsewhere. However, we found the Machine Shed had wonderful food, especially their breakfast. We had 50 people gathered so Reona set up the banquet room, provided a TV to watch the big Iowa State game, let us flow outside to play Bocce and gather by a firepit, hang out at the lobby bar, and later provide a mic and speaker for some speeches. Rooms are attractive, the whole hotel a delight.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deniceg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lesley Von Tersch, Other at Hotel Renovo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2021

Hello, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience with us at Hotel Renovo! We appreciate that choose to stay with us and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2021

Highly disappointed with our stay at this supposed 4.5 star boutique hotel. We stayed in the Loft Suite & when you pay $200+/night one would expect a clean, well cared for room. List of issues: no soap dish in half bath downstairs, most of the vents in the suite needed cleaned, especially the one in the upstairs bathroom. The area rug was dirty & stained in the living area (pink stain under ottoman) & the entertainment center in the living area was cracked, chipped & missing a knob. No lamp in living room as pictured or other décor. There were holes below one of the pictures that need filled & painted in the living area. There were several pieces of tape on the wall in the living area that need to be removed. The shelves in the kitchen area were beat up, one of the jars was missing a lid. The walls need painted. The carpet on the stairs had what appeared to be a bleach stain & the carpet was worn out so bad in one spot on the landing that it was wearing through. The sliding barn door was dirty & in need of paint. Above the sliding barn door there is paint coming off. The sliding barn door for the closet had dirty fuzz hanging from it. The entertainment center in the bedroom was chipped. The upstairs bathroom wallpaper was dirty. The knob to the shower was loose & very low water pressure.
We asked for towels one night prior to a shift change & never received them. The towels are not boutique hotel worthy, they were rough.
Had it not been for Josh, who was working the night shift, we would have checked out the day we arrived. The hotel did credit us for one night of a 3 night stay but it really should have been more. After I complained, Cameron said he would send someone to clean the room. While the trash was emptied, the bed was made & towels were brought in, the dirty vents were not touched, still no soap dish downstairs, etc.
Soundproofing would do this hotel a world of good too.
I understand most hotel rooms will have wear & tear but this one is in need of a renovation!! I believe a quality control check is needed & the staff needs to assess which rooms need makeovers.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babsKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lesley Von Tersch, Other at Hotel Renovo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

Hello, thank you for providing us with all of this information. We take pride in our hotel and we want to make sure everything is consistently up to expectations. I have shared your feedback with our executive team to make the necessary changes going forward. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2020

We come to Des Moines multiple times a year to visit family and made a quick trip down this past weekend. We have stayed in several hotels in the area over the past 4-5 years. We have found the one we will stay in from now on in Hotel Renovo! It was clean, beautifully decorated and the staff was very friendly and welcoming. I was there with my daughter, my son and his wife and young daughter and we all had the same feeling. The pool is huge and they also have a spa and fitness area. The staff were taking appropriate COVID precautions. It was overall a wonderful stay. Will definitely recommend it to our extended family who also visits the area and we will be back! Thank you Hotel Renovo!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kaikens47
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lesley Von Tersch, Other at Hotel Renovo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

Thank you for the very kinds words! It means a lot to us that you took the time to post your recommendation and we appreciate your patronage! We hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2020

My Stay at Hotel Renovo was better than excellent. The staff was extremely quick & flexible to me having to find a place ASAP. Once in the hotel, the amenities & perks were fabulous. Upscale Dining, among other regular hotel necessities. High Quality all around. Not only did the staff respect privacy, but was always quick to ask if there was anything else I needed. Highly recommend for local, pass through travel & business travel alike. Thank you to the team at Hotel Renovo.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryanjO3244ZF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michelle Sparkman, Other at Hotel Renovo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

It means a lot to us that you took the time to provide such an amazing review. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again during your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2020 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel leading up to a wedding, along with family and the wedding party. Every single person we came in contact with at the hotel, all the way down to the housekeepers, went out of their way with care and kindness. They thought of every detail to make sure our stay was the best it could be, as well as stress and worry free leading up to the wedding. The room and hotel were beautiful, spotless and clean. Definitely plan to stay here again! Thank you all for everything!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 854mirandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michelle Sparkman, Other at Hotel Renovo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Hello, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Hotel Renovo! We take pride in our property and always like to hear feedback from our guests. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews