We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Sunday, August 28th bike ride.

My wife and I started our bike ride from The Woodward trailhead. In about 2.5 miles we arrived to... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
iowacityia
,
iowa city, ia
Trestle Bridge at Sunset

Built on an old railroad trestle, this paved bridge with steel sculpture and lighting is a sight to... read more

Reviewed 12 August 2022
Julianne M
,
Monument, Colorado
via mobile
Read all 221 reviews
  
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
178
40
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
178
40
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews des moines bike ride bring a flashlight wooded area beautiful scenery woodward dusk cyclists qf ia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2021 via mobile

Cool experience at night. The bridge lights up. Goto the parking lot. Hike .4 mile through the woods to a bike path of .5 mile. The bridge is 0.5. It’s a fun thing to do.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank sakflva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 June 2021 via mobile

Beautiful paved trail through some suburbia, rolling farm land, and across the wonderful High Trestle Bridge.

I really enjoyed the option to stop and eat and drink along the trail. That’s a really nice option.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank LeonardTrotsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 March 2021

Okay so after travelling to 50 states, Iowa ranked pretty low on my list and lets face it, there's just not a lot to do in Iowa. This area had parking, nice bike trails and the bridge is very pretty at night but its just a bridge and walking trails - if you're looking for adventure, Iowa may not be for you.

For female, solo travelers - this felt safe during day time but it got pretty quiet at night (might be due to COVID), just be careful!

Date of experience: October 2020
3  Thank thepintrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 October 2020

Of course the trestle bridge is the main attraction, but the whole trail is great fun!
Great scenery and great places to stop for drink and food. The busier the better, great fun to meet and watch other bikers. If you have never biked this trail, you have to!

Date of experience: October 2020
1  Thank MikeS755
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 September 2020 via mobile

Multiple ways to get there and free parking locations.

We really enjoyed our walk to and on the bridge. It's best if you get there a bit before sunset so you can see the color of the bridge and still take in the beautiful scenery around it.

Date of experience: September 2020
3  Thank Fam_Tvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews