We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hindu Temple and Cultural Center of Iowa
Save
Review Highlights
Annual Fall Celebration

Very nice people, very informative about their religion, and their food was excellent! We have... read more

Reviewed 20 September 2017
Jim R
,
Jefferson, Iowa, United States
Nice and blissful

Lovely place of worship.The best temple in Iowa State.The temple outside carving is beautiful.Hindu... read more

Reviewed 7 July 2017
Purnima09
,
Iowa
via mobile
Read all 7 reviews
  
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
1
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1
5
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Very nice people, very informative about their religion, and their food was excellent! We have never tried Indian food and was very glad to get the opportunity to try an array of dishes.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Drive north towards Madrid up the hill from the river clearing the trees. Look left past the cornfield and WOW!

A Hindu temple! In Iowa!

It's beautiful. I once brought a friend from India who was impressed. I've been myself to India thirteen times and can say this is a great asset to Iowa.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely place of worship.The best temple in Iowa State.The temple outside carving is beautiful.Hindu God and Goddess idols are their inside the temple.photography is prohibited.Devine place.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Purnima09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 July 2016

After reading about the Hindu Temple on TripAdvisor, my friends and I were interested about visiting the temple. On our way home, several miles south of f Madrid on Hwy 17, we found the temple next to a farm.
After viewing the outside, we were fortunate to meet a member of the temple who graciously showed us to the room where we stored our shoes and washed our feet to prepare to enter the Mandir where Hindus go to worship. We were not allowed to take photos but silently observed a blessing.
We are thankful to have had the privilege of experiencing a small part of the Hindu religion on our weekend trip to Madrid.
Be sure to visit the website to know the times when the temple may be open.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 April 2016

to find a beautiful ornate Hindu temple in the middle of ... well, nowhere! The address is Madrid, but the temple is not within the town limits (as far as we could tell). The sun was setting and there were a few cars in the lot. As we admired the structure, the grounds, etc., temple goers were leaving and getting into their cars. Although we would have loved to view the interior, we were uncertain if the temple is open to visitors. Regardless, it is a remarkable building, complete with intricate carvings and carved elephants. We took a few quick snaps and left.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank TeeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews