We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
This a fantastic visitors site. Do not miss out.

The Basilica is a very beautiful and historic church on the grounds of Notre Dame University... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
William M
,
Belleville, Illinois
Absolutely beauty

Long time before I went to see the basilica, I've red an article about it. Since that, I knew that... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
romanpiekosz
,
Chicago, Illinois
Read all 681 reviews
  
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveller rating
634
40
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
634
40
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful church stained glass notre dame golden dome mass basilica beauty grotto campus architecture god bend saturday students game school
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 681 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2021 via mobile

The Basilica is a beautiful historic attraction right in the heart of Notre Dame. Make sure to check the times of services if you want to get the full experience and see all of the art and sculptures. Afterwards make a visit to the Grotto directly behind the church and light a candle for a loved one or to their memory.

Date of experience: June 2021
Thank andrewc975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 May 2021

they were very careful still regarding Covid safety protocols . student ushers were kind and helpful

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank LaJ667
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2020 via mobile

One word says it all. This Basilica is one of the most beautiful we have visited. Work is under way restoring windows and paint. This is a must see.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2020

Post hours for game days on the signs on the Basilica. We waited an hour to go to Saturday mass and finally looked on the website and saw in a small note that Saturday mass when there is a day game, the mass will begin 30 minutes after the game. We had called ahead during the week to be certain masses were still going on for the weekend and the lady made no mention of anything other than mass is at 5pm. We were very disappointed, as this was the only reason we were in South Bend was to attend Saturday mass and to tour the Basilica and campus.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank raras999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2020 via mobile

My 7 year old was on break from school and spending the week with us and wanted to see Notre Dame. Every one we encountered was wearing a mask and many of the normal tour venues were shut down. On our way to the Basilica we saw students leaving an 11:00 mass and entered for a couple of minutes of meditation. A nun was extinguishing the candles on the altar and she waved to us and motioned for our grandson to join her at the altar and he finish putting out the candles. Sister then led him from the altar as he carried the Bible to the sacristy where he was shown the chalices. What a great experience the Basilica and the Special Sister who made our day.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank Q6660TUtimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews