We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed in recent changes”

Gale Street Inn-Diamond Lake
Ranked #13 of 105 Restaurants in Mundelein
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: For almost 60 years, Gale Street Inn has been serving fine food and spirits with gracious hospitality. George opened his first location in Chicago's Jefferson Park neighborhood in 1963. While ribs were one of the original menu items, we never thought they’d become world famous. In 1974, George and his wife Joan ventured out to what was then considered the country. They found the perfect location on the shores of Diamond Lake. A great deal has changed since then, but our commitment to service and great food hasn’t. We welcome you to visit and see what’s new. It’s the Gale Street you love and remember with a more comfortable and updated atmosphere. Come for your favorite dishes prepared by our award-winning chef and stay for the sunset, a good cocktail, and many more memories to be made.
Reviewed 26 May 2021

Wife and I have been going to Gale Street for 50 years, starting back in the day when they were on-the-lake. This was our first visit since they re-opened with renovations, which are not so good. They removed most of the decorations, and now its just a big square open, sterile, room - and very LOUD. The modifications didn't consider the acoustics, so even with a half filled dining room, it's unpleasantly noisy. The menu has changed, no more salad bar (I remember the original GSI salad bar was legendary), and sandwiches are off the menu. Prices are markedly higher now (i,e. $45 for Prime Rib, $18 for Spaghetti). Service staff is new, mediocre but trying.. The food was good, but nothing special. Overall with the much higher prices, there are many other fine-dining places now with better atmosphere, service, and food.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2021

What a wonderful surprise! Just re-opened and so great to have an incredible option like this around here. The decor has been significantly upgraded but still comfortable.

Every dish seemed to get better and better. Starting out with the tomato burrata salad that was the best we've had since visiting Italy. Lamb chops were out of this world, the salmon piccata was perfectly cooked and had a delicious sauce. And of course, the ribs were showstoppers.

Somehow made room for dessert and would come here just for a slice of that carrot cake!

Bill was very helpful in also picking a great wine that worked with all of the various dishes.

Will definitely be back!

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tomvchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2020

Does anyone know if Gale Street will be reopening? Miss this place. Can't seem to find out any info on it. Just that they are remodeling. Is it still Gale Street or new owners?

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
13  Thank skipperotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gale Street Inn, Marketing at Gale Street Inn-Diamond Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2021

We've miss you too! We are OPEN!! We have reinvested to update Gale Street Inn. With a new menu, keeping true to our classics like bbq ribs & prime rib and a brand new atmosphere! Stop by or order carry out today, we can't wait to show you what's new at Gale Street Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019 via mobile

A little out if the way, but still worth the trip for ribs and steak. Now across the road from the original location with lake view, but stillspecially great in winter with great fireplace. Enjoy the self serve salad bar for a small additional fee with dinner entree.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank C809SQedwardr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2019 via mobile

We Had A local High School Reunion Here with about 80 people in attendance. Nice Bar and Nice area for all of us to visit. Food here is very good. Brie Of Diamond Kake and Sunset is Fantastic. This is a fine Venue Run by True Proffesionals

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Chad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gale Street Inn-Diamond Lake also viewed

 
Mundelein, Lake County
Mundelein, Lake County
 

Been to Gale Street Inn-Diamond Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.