We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
LeMeridien.comUS$183
Agoda.comUS$183
ExpediaUS$183
Hotels.comUS$183
eDreamsUS$183
Trip.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
286
46
26
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
286
46
26
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grant park front desk bluetooth speaker espresso machine bathroom mirror huge tv resort fee great amenities beautiful hotel the hotel is clean checking in night stay a great stay lake michigan the entire staff upon check mini fridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2022 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel Essex! This was our first trip since the pandemic and we were quickly put to ease from our very friendly welcome!

The moment we entered the doors, we were quickly greeted by the wonderful staff and they were very helpful. Sanitizers were readily located and the hotel itself is very clean.

The room was beautiful and clean. No concerns there!

The location was fabulous! We walked the majority of our trip and no issues with finding public transport when needed!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JayCeeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry Irving, General Manager at Le Meridien Essex Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2022

Hi Jay C. —
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. We're thrilled to hear you found the rooms beautiful and clean. And we're happy to know our friendly and helpful team members left a lasting impression. We appreciate your positive review and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2022 via mobile

This hotel should not carry the le meridien brand. The cost cutting measures from providing the cheapest toiletries to requiring daily in-person request of $15 breakfast voucher PER ROOM, providing daily 1 bottle of water upon request, and no room clean up did not justify the $250 per night hotel rate. I booked the hotel for 2 people for 7 nights and although I don't mind the front desk not recognizing the titanium status, I mind when the room has no slippers and has only 1 bathrobe. Without daily clean up services, I asked for additional conditioner and shower gel through the app. Ended up getting bar soap and shampoo when I returned to the room after a long day of conference. Went down to the lobby to ask for toiletries and breakfast vouchers and received an attitude that I bothered them. The hotel achieved their cost cutting goal because we skipped the breakfast and not asking for the water alongside toiletries. This is my worst experience with a "le meridien" that has a business model on par with super 8 and motel 6. Good luck to the success of the hotel.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank vict209130
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry Irving, General Manager at Le Meridien Essex Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2022

Hi Victor C. —
We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided. In order to better uphold our commitment to deliver an exceptional experience we have shared your feedback with the hotel leadership team to investigate this further. If you could share your preferred contact information with frontdesk@lemeridienessexchicago.com someone from our team will be in touch. Thanks again for your time and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2022

Pros:

Staff - The staff was very friendly and generally helpful, albeit with what may be purposely deceitful explanations of platinum benefits and the resort fee benefits.

Location - If you need to be in south loop or near Michigan Ave, this is well located.

Cons:

Rooms - The rooms are tiny and not at all functional for business. The bathrooms are smaller than what is found in budget European hotels.

Toiletries - The hotel was missing standard toiletries. I first checked into a room that had zero shampoo. The next room had only shampoo and hand soap. For a hotel of this class, this is very weak.

In room coffee - I only received one caffeinated coffee pack in my room over 5 nights. I only was replenished with decaf coffee packs/pods. Often I wasn't getting to my room until after midnight and having to leave early in the morning, so I was only able to rectify this issue one day.

In room toilet paper - It was awful industrial-class toilet paper. In my experience Marriott properties typically use the hotel series of Charmin or Cotonnelle, but this was the type you'd find in a public bathroom. It was part of a clear theme that the hotel is generally skimping on soft products.

No iron/laundry bag - Not that big of a deal, but the room has no iron/ironing board and there was no laundry bag.

***
In sum, most of the issues are fixable but quite annoying when added up. The general sense of this place is that they cut corners everywhere they can. It was clear it was a lower-class hotel in its previous life and that they upgraded some design features but nothing else. It is not up to par with standard Marriott properties. I have stayed in many other Chicago hotels, and I can affirmatively say there are much better properties to stay at (both Marriott and non-Marriott) for around the same price.

Date of stay: May 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank E3260LDmarkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry Irving, General Manager at Le Meridien Essex Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Hi abqsunport —
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It is through guest feedback that we are able to improve upon the experience provided to our guests. Your experience has been shared with the with our Housekeeping leadership who joins us in offering not only our sincere apologies for the team’s shortcomings, but our commitment to resolving these issues in order to improve your experience in the future. We would like to get in touch directly and are unable to find your reservation in our system. Please email our Front Desk Manager valarie.lopez@lemeridienessexchicago.com and we will follow up directly. Thanks again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2022 via mobile

They overbooked their double rooms so we only got one king bed… but they gave us some food vouchers & coupons as well as a view upgrade to compensate. The room was amazing and clean nonetheless as well as the service. JAMES (the bellhop) WAS AMAZING!!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank juehling123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry Irving, General Manager at Le Meridien Essex Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2022

Hi Jaelyn U,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the King bedroom with a view. And we're happy to know James made a lasting impression during your stay. We appreciate your positive review and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2022

My young adult children and I planned a trip to see Chicago. Our hotel of Choice was the Le Meridian Essex. We arrived around 11 AM, before normal check in and the staff has been awesome! From holding our bags, calling us when our rooms were ready and providing prompt service. Upon check in, Danny and James were amazing. Our family loves the Marriott brand, Le Meridian’s leads with the standard of service and quality expected from the brand; And the view is amazing!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elletimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry Irving, General Manager at Le Meridien Essex Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2022

Hi Ellie,
On behalf of the entire hotel team, thank you for sharing about your great stay! It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback. We strive to deliver excellent customer service in all aspects throughout the hotel and we’re happy to hear Danny and James really hit the mark during your stay! From our prompt service to our amazing views, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Thanks again for your kind recommendation. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews