We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Large Groups!”

Macello Ristorante - Pizzeria
Reserve with OpenTable
Macello Ristorante - Pizzeria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #567 of 10,258 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: US$30 - US$55
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: West Loop
Cross street: Racine
Transit: Green Line - Ashland/Grand Stop
Description: Pugliese Cuisine. Steaks - Chops - Pasta - Pizza 2 Wood-Burning Ovens Ranked "#2 Best Pizza", Chicago Magazine Patio in the summer Complementary Parking During Lunch (11:30am-3:00pm)
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Our family celebrated my son's graduation from UIC with a fun dinner at Macello's. My son and his fiancee live in Chicago, and this is one of their favorite restaurants. Our group included 7 adults and 3 kids. Fortunately, we had reservations and were placed at a large table in the back, which was perfect for us. To keep it simple, we ordered several different pizzas, along with some really good salads. We also enjoyed several bottles of excellent and reasonably priced wine! The wait staff was outstanding and so personable. They were very helpful with the kids, including one child with severe dairy allergies. Even the desserts were good! We had a delightful evening and will return again. I love the decor and atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MargaretH2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie M, Manager at Macello Ristorante - Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It's like music to my ears. I am glad that you and family had a fantastic time. Macello's thank you for dining and hope that there are many more memories made here at Macello.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2018

We were here for a party( the host rented the entire restaurant for the afternoon).
First the decor is wonderful...fun friendly and a place you want to be at.
Second, service over the top. Couldn't do enough for us. Felt very welcoming. Another reason to come back.
Third, fixed menu. They just kept bringing different dishes. I though everything was great except the chicken. Wasn't bad, just ordinary. I bet their Chicken Versuvio would be great.
I can't imagine that anyone wouldn't like this place. I did read other reviews and often wonder what people want. When I saw that Blaze pizza and Giordono's is rated higher I scratch my head. Guess it takes all kinds to make a world.
Why not a 5. Because it was a fixed menu I didn't get to try what I would to have really judged this place

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie M, Manager at Macello Ristorante - Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

You will just have to come back and eat what you want to eat with out limitations. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Just west of downtown under the Lake Street tracks, Macello’s is a casual friendly place that attracts a mixed clientele for a good meal. Steamed mussels were good (don’t get the stuffed mussels...too much breading filler), thin crust pizzas from the wood burning oven make a nice appetizer, langanelle pasta with prawns was excellent, as was the lamp chop entree. Gelato was a good finish after a big meal. You can bring your own wine (corkage fee of $20 is very reasonable for a downtown location). On street parking or valet...but only a short cab or Uber ride from downtown. Service was terrific...everyone was friendly and it made for a nice experience all around.

Thank herb12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie M, Manager at Macello Ristorante - Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Well it sounds like you will just have to come back. IF you are in the neighborhood during the week, Macello offers happy hour 3:00pm-6:00pm Tuesday thru Thursday, 1/2 price select appetizers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had no complaints--but we experienced nothing spectacular either. There are better options in the West Loop, but if you are in the mood for pizza, this is a good choice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

What a find but apparently we were the only ones that didn't know about it. Fun atmosphere, really good food, some live Italian music and awesome service (Christian?). I have been talking this up and we will definitely be back, which is unusual for us as we like to try new restaurants. Best new discovery for us in a while.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie M, Manager at Macello Ristorante - Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sounds like you have found a gem in the westloop. We are always here to service you. Half Price bottles of wine on Wednesdays as well. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Macello Ristorante - Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Macello Ristorante - Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing