We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chicago from the Lake Ltd
Save
Review Highlights
If you only do one thing in Chicago take this tour

This is an incredible tour. It gives a view of Chicago that you'll never get on land. The guide was... read more

Reviewed 30 October 2018
wayne r
,
Vancouver, Canada
Great night on the boat

Me and a couple of friend went on a night cruise and had a great time the fireworks were just great... read more

Reviewed 9 March 2018
jacquelinec411
,
Chicago
via mobile
Read all 27 reviews
  
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
20
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat tour navy pier land signage explanation architecture guide crew history
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2015

The location is a little hard to find for an out-of-towner. I live in Bluffton S.C. It is located just north of the Centennial Fountain at 465 McClurg Ct. The ship is a nice two decker, we found seats on the lower deck in the front of the boat under a covered canopy but since we were in the first row it did not block the view. The boat has bath rooms and food. Starbucks Coffee, Coca-Cola soft drinks, lemonade, muffins and cookies are all complimentary. Cocktails, beer and wine are available. The tour guide is very knowledgeable about the city’s architecture which is the highlight of the cruise. We had a lovely day and the two hour cruise was over before I knew it. I did take more than 100 pictures of the buildings along the river banks. My niece and her boyfriend took more than 200 pictures. The view buildings from the boat were so much better than from the land. The explanation of the architecture in its historical context by the guide made the trip special..

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank SunCityBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Even if architecture doesn't interest you, this river tour is very good and INTERESTING! The buildings of Chicago's Lake area go through many time periods of architectural styles. Really worth it..AND you get complimentary coffee, hot cocoa, cookies and lemonade if you want.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank love2travelHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

Very well informed tour guide who for nearly 2 hours entertained us with stories and history of the magnificent buildings we sailed past. Free cookies and coffee and good entertainment... best to go either early morning or late afternoon for best photo shots.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank CliveNoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If you like to learn a little about Chicago and some of the people who built it - this is the way to go.
Our tour guide was a retired architect and very informative. The cruise included cookies , muffins coffee,water, lemonade or tea. We were on top (which is where you want to be - so pick a good weather day). We both enjoyed it. Our hotel reserved our seats.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We arrived at the Midway airport at noon and were on the boat tour at 2!!! It is a fabulous way to see the wonders of Chicago architecture and a good history lesson as well. Highly recommend -- excellent guide. Follow this up with a tour of the interiors of some of the amazing buildings!

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank Roberts08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews