We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Buckingham Club
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$260
US$233
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
US$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
US$475
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$216
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$179
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$394
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$242
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$126
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
96
80
17
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
80
17
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsathletic clubthe financial districtoffice buildingchicago stock exchangecontinental breakfastchange elevatorsthe loopchicago board of tradeblue linewillis towerkey fobgreat view from the roomlarge poolsecurity guardcta stoptop floortraditional hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

I will never get tired of staying in this secret hotel! This visit our room was facing the lake, last visit the room was directly across from the Willis Tower! The gym/spa is phenomenal and the third floor eatery as well as cocktail bar are fantastic and so convenient. Set directly above the CBOE - it’s perfect for our needs and wants!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julianne W, Guest Relations Manager at The Buckingham Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Well thanks Heather, we're so happy to hear that you've enjoyed your time with us! We hope we'll always stay your favorite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

This place is amazing. I have stayed at many hotels, but this one blew us away. It isn't the typical hotel. Only 21 rooms, but wonderfully appointed rooms with a view of Chicago. All the rooms are on the 40th floor.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julianne W, Guest Relations Manager at The Buckingham Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

We think you're amazing too, Alan. Thanks for taking the time to write us a note!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

I have stayed at the Buckingham Club several times over the past several years. On weekends you can often get a room for $200 or less. On my recent Presidents Day weekend trip it was under $150 a night.

There are only about 20 rooms here, all ringing the 40th floor of the newer of the Chicago Board of Trade buildings. Check in is a bit unusual as you enter the office building and check in at a small desk in the lobby. You are then given two keys, one that allows entrance into the building and elevator, and a second that is a traditional room key.

You have to take two elevators to get to your room, which is a very minor inconvenience.

Rooms themselves are very nice with amazing Chicago views. While rooms on the North and East sides face the city, we actually like the south facing rooms with views of the lake, river, train stations, and aircraft landing and arriving at Midway.

Location is convenient to Union Station, CTA, and loop attractions like the Willis Tower. It is a bit far from some of the traditional tourist spots in Grant Park or the Magnificent Mile. Also, while the neighborhood is vibrant during the business day, there are not many restaurants nearby that are open during the nights or on weekends.

Room Tip: The hotel is very quite inside, however, you will get normal outside city noises (sirens, car horns, train horns).
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BMIFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julianne W, Guest Relations Manager at The Buckingham Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Good Day,

Thank you for such a well-written and thorough review. You covered everything from location to rooms to the views, we really appreciate feedback like this! We look forward to having you in one of our south facing rooms in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

If you are looking for friendliness at the front desk, a spotless clean room, and more privacy than your own home. Look no further the Buckingham Club is a terrific hotel and I will definitely continue staying here when staying in Chicago

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MjMaese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julianne W, Guest Relations Manager at The Buckingham Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

What a fantastic review! Thank you kindly for the nice words about the staff and our rooms, you're always a welcome guest with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

Can’t fault the room, and such fabulous views. Bed very comfortable. Decor is getting on a bit, but it’s fine. Sometimes the room cleaning was a bit half-hearted, but everything was clean.

It’s just a bit strange - it doesn’t feel like a hotel as the reception is in the lobby area of a big office block, and to get to the restaurant (and gym), you had to descend 40 floors, walk around to another set of lifts and go up 3. I didn’t bother with the restaurant - which is shut st weekends. They do provide some rather nasty pastries for weekend breakfast in a small ‘club’ room on the same floor as the rooms.

It is worth it for the views, though I don’t joke if I’ll stay again. Really convenient for the blue line from the airport and the loop.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank MuddyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julianne W, Guest Relations Manager at The Buckingham Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Hello MuddyBath,

Nice to hear from you! We appreciate and totally understand your feedback- we are an unusual hotel, and we do have Great Views, and we're happy you stayed with us! We're working on some improvements to the weekend breakfast spread, and in the near future hope to implement some upgrades to the rooms. Perhaps you will give us another chance the next time you're in town.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews