We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
US$475
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Villa D'Citta(Chicago)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ace Hotel Chicago(Chicago)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast(Chicago)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
63
9
1
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
9
1
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscubs fanballpark viewcubs gamewrigley fieldview roomsmoke daddysubway tileroom was extremely spaciousclark streetrestaurants barsenjoy your stayunique hotellong weekendlocation is amazingfront deskbell hophotel bar
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

I have two older parents and we had our tickets to go see the cubs. The Zachary made this "outing" not only enjoyable but very convenient. We were able to come in the day before the game and my parents were able to get out right in-front of the hotel. Parking was just around the corner and under the hotel EASY. And we were able to leave the car there until the game was over.

I would suggest that you go ahead and pony-up for a room on stadium side. It is truly a great view and the street noise is pretty well blocked out.

The room are very comfortable and stylish. They have though all everything a traveler would like. Wireless cell phone chargers by the bed, Ice prepackaged on each floor and staff that go-out of they way to help.

My only concern was with the noise level at check-in, with the bar right there it did make it had to hear. Also the restaurant on that level is loud and not a good place for casual conversation at normal voice levels.

We will be back to repeat this stay with other friends and family. They just make game-day too easy.

\

Room Tip: Room on the stadium side are worth the extra $$
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sds898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Hotel Zachary, Chicago, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear sds898,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Zachary with us. We appreciate the detailed description of your stay. We will take the volume into consideration for future. We look forward to hosting you again next time

Yours in Hospitality,

Hotel Zachary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

The Hotel Zachary at Clark and Addison in Chicago provides an exceptional experience of the uniquely vibrant Wrigleville neighborhood. And offers easy access to the parts of Chicago.
If your a Cubs fan, or just a baseball fan, this is highly recommended. The corner of Clark and Addison was the epicenter of arguably the greatest celebration is Chicago sports history, and the new Zachary Hotel oversees both the iconic Wrigley Field and that iconic intersection.
The hotel is named in honor of architect Zachary Taylor Davis, who designed what was originally known as Federal League Ball Park, a 14,000 seat facility that was first home to the Chicago Whales.
The most striking thing about the Zachary, to me, is its scale. The Zachary is a boutique hotel, with a sense of being in someone’s large, comfortable residence. There is no grand staircase or soaring lobby spaces, but rather, numerous comfortable spaces throughout the lobby bar area that allow small groups to relax over drinks and food.
The interior design was inspired by Taylor’s early 20th century residence and private studio. And the warm colors and tones, wood and metal and brick and leather reflect that.
Spacious standard rooms are well laid out with a beautiful, understated interior design touch, and very quiet. The robes are the most comfortable I’ve ever worn, and that includes my one stay at a Waldorf Astoria.
With a total of only 173 rooms and suites, the Zachary will be a rather exclusive place and assuredly in high demand throughout the baseball season. Though the public is welcome to enjoy the public spaces, such as the Bar at the Zachary and the large 2nd floor deck overlooking Clark Street.
While rooms start at $209, a more likely starting price, including taxes. But I suspect a more accurate figure will be $358 during baseball season , which is what we spent for a non-Wrigley Field view room for the April 28 Cubs-Brewers game.
Hotel Zachary a member of the Tribute Portfolio, which part of Marriott International, Inc., so guests can enjoy full access to the Starwood Preferred Guest® Program.
One of Chicago’s iconic music venues, the Metro, is just two blocks north at 3730 N. Clark Street, and the classic Vic Theater at 3145 N. Sheffield less than a mile away.
The CTA Red line rapid transit line, a long block east of the hotel, offers easy access to the downtown area, including Michigan Avenue and the Loop.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers have views of Wrigley Field
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

The whole look and feel of the Zachary Hotel is inviting. The attention to historical detail with current accents gives the hotel a unique fun flair. Our room had an "elegant" baseball feel - vintage baseball pictures, a baseball glove-like leather wingback chair, floor to ceiling windows, a huge rainfall shower and it was really big. The service staff is accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: If available ask for a room with a view of Wrigley Field- the view is awesome and the people watching is fun too.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Hotel Zachary, Chicago, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Julia B,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. When Hotel Zachary was built our goal was to blend subtle elements of baseball with the authenticity of this beautiful neighborhood into our design. Thank you for noticing! We hope that you visit again in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,


Hotel Zachary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

My wife and I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Zachary with plans to attend a Cubs/Cards game. We arrived well before scheduled check in time, but desk staff quickly found us an upgraded room that was ready for us immediately.


At the time of our stay the hotel was only 2 weeks old, but everyone we encountered were friendly and anxious to help. The hotel is classy and beautiful with a baseball, Cubs theme. The rooms are beautifully appointed, complete with gorgeous hotel robes. We had a room with a stadium view and I was initially concerned about noise from busy Clark Street, but after we closed the automatic blackout curtains we did not hear a peep all night.

We enjoyed some drinks with friends at the lobby bar- great craft cocktails and cheese and hummus boards. Along with the same friendly, polished service we had become accustomed to.

Also in the same building is a massive Big Star and a Smoke Daddy restaurant- we enjoyed a great lunch and dinner at these spots.

The bad news- our game was postponed because of the terrible weather- but we have already rebooked for the July make up date, can’t wait to return!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jdranshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Hotel Zachary, Chicago, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Jdranshaw,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Hotel Zachary. We are happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed staying with us. Our staff looks forward to seeing you again in July.

Yours in Hospitality,

Hotel Zachary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Zachary for a long weekend in April and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The location was extremely convenient to attend a Cubs game - but the attention to details and guest needs exceeded expectations. The room was well planned - spacious - and extremely comfortable. The view of Wrigley Field was spectacular- our daughter enjoyed spending time looking out the floor-to-ceiling windows watching the neighborhood life below. The workout room was well planned and furnished. Even the cookies at the front desk was a very nice touch. We will absolutely be returning to this hotel in the near future.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank QSentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Hotel Zachary, Chicago, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear QSentry,

We are so happy that your family enjoyed staying at Hotel Zachary. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of the memories that were made. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Hotel Zachary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews