We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful museum!”
Review of The Field Museum

The Field Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.00*
and up
Field Museum of Natural History Admission
Ranked #43 of 694 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of America's premier natural history museums, the Field's "Live over Time" exhibit now houses "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus rex ever discovered.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are usually not museum people, but my husband has always heard about this museum and wanted to go see it while we were in Chicago. It has lots of interesting stuff from all over the world. There is even an entire "plants from around the world" section at the museum. My biggest complaint (as is with a lot of museums nowadays) is that the $24 general admission doesn't get you into any of the "special exhibitions". Since we had rented a car, we had to pay $25 to park at Soldier Field and then another $48 just to get into the museum front door. That did not include any shows or Imax films nor did it include the "Mummies" exhibit that is right up front. The exhibit looks very interesting, but we just would not pay the extra to see it. We did, however, get to see the lions of Tsavo which was really cool to my husband and I since we love the movie The Ghost and the Darkness.

**Warning: We were there on Memorial Day 2018. We were told that Sue the T-rex would be coming down until April 2019 when they will have a new home for her. Sue is a HUGE draw at this museum, so if you are taking your kiddos to this museum to see Sue between 6/1/18-4/1/19, you will be disappointed.

1  Thank MandyMcCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"t rex"
in 767 reviews
"natural history"
in 275 reviews
"terracotta warriors"
in 185 reviews
"egyptian exhibit"
in 161 reviews
"ancient egypt"
in 159 reviews
"evolving planet"
in 117 reviews
"underground adventure"
in 109 reviews
"stuffed animals"
in 98 reviews
"jurassic world"
in 94 reviews
"jurassic park"
in 65 reviews
"access pass"
in 76 reviews
"main hall"
in 69 reviews
"permanent exhibits"
in 73 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 157 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 151 reviews
"on display"
in 187 reviews
"shedd aquarium"
in 160 reviews
Filter

40 - 44 of 7,585 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Field Museum was interesting for adults and kids both. The mummies and dinosaurs were big hits for the kids, and adults really loved the precious gems exhibit!

Thank ewinke03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a couple hours visiting the museum. It has all the basics you would look for in this type of museum.

1  Thank vze1en9h8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great museum. Tons of information to take in. You can easily spend a whole day here. I advise leaving your little children at home. The information is over their heads and makes it less enjoyable for the parents.

Thank JoyS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a kid I loved The Field Museum so when I took my son to Chicago it was the first thing on our to do list and it was well worth it!

The displays are more interactive than when I was last there and there is so much more to see and do!

Book online and book a 3D movie and then take the virtual tour outside the dinosaur display.

Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Field Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing