We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$160
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Estoril(Sal Rei)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,140)
Filter reviews
9,140 results
Traveller rating
4,561
3,066
1,087
261
165
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,561
3,066
1,087
261
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadults only sectioninfinity poolred flaggourmet restaurantmain restaurantboa vistacape verdemain poolswim up barsalt waterrelaxing holidayevery other daythe main squareroom in blockevening entertainmenttwo weeksquad biking
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 9,140 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thought I’d written this review last year but must have forgotten.
Here goes - lovely lively hotel with plenty to do and great beaches.
We asked for a quiet room so we’re quite a way from reception but that wasn’t a problem. The room was basic but nice with a fridge that was a bonus.
We had 10 days here and the weather beach and staff were great . Food was good but unfortunately a tummy bug ran through the hotel so most people caught it. The staff did everything they could to help but when there are that many people in a hotel there’s little you can do.
We liked the range of shops in the reception area and took some lovely jewellery back with us.
The island itself is developing fast so won’t stay the way it is for long- a hidden gem that’s 2 hrs closer to fly to than the Caribbean!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank beautiful_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazing holiday. The beach was the best we have walked although if you want a swim it ll probably best if you use the pool x The hotel was very clean and the staff attentive and the food was amazing so much so if you only ate in the main restaurant you wouldnt be disappointed . All in all we will return x

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I decided to book a last minute break on our own, and dropped on the Riu Touareg in Boa Vista. The 6 hour plane journey is a pain as it’s a tiddler due to a short runway in Cape Verde. There’s no entertainment on board so bring and make your own. It’s a short transfer to the hotel via coach so I would pay for private transfers. Check in was painful as there were 3 coach loads and we were in the last coach so at the back of a long and sweaty queue. From there though it’s all sit back and relax. Great food and drink and a selection of food is always on. Only slight down side is no WiFi in the rooms but it’s available in most of the main areas. If you’ve not been I’d be happy to recommend.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are coming to the end of our 2 week stay here and I must say that 2 weeks has been far too long, there is not a lot to do other than eat and lay around the pool, They advertise the 5 star experience but you only get that if you pay £100s more to upgrade. you can not leave the resort and there are no water sports ect.

Pools - we had to put our towels down every day to guarantee a sunbed which as a supposed 5 star I did not expect to have to do, the jacuzzi area was dirty and not maintained. The infinity pool was quieter. Pool bars all shut at 6pm and not aloud round area at all after they shut.

Restaurants - All I can say is chaotic, get in early to avoid the elbow pushers, the food was good but the same every day.

Evenings - entertainment is cheesy and basic and it is hard to find a seat as your all contained in one area there’s no bars set away from the main square which is a shame as a beach bar would be lovely to get away from the crowds of people, we were told by a Tui rep the drinks are all watered down due to health and safety (never heard this before)

We have been woken on numerous nights by drunken behaviour which I understand is expected on some occasions but not most nights and not on a holiday of which is sold as a 5 star, we have witnessed 2 fights which again was not expected on a 5 star. Rooms are dated but clean and the staff are brilliant they go above and beyond.

I would not recommend this hotel to families and personally won’t be returning and recommending it to my friends.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Louisa1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Touareg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Firstly, please let us point out that due to the current situation of the sea at the Lacacão beach, we do not offer anymore watersport activities at our hotel as the conditions do not allow an adequate development of these programs and we are sorry if this made your stay with us seem less enjoyable.

We place great importance on providing our guests with unforgettable experiences and it is disappointing to see that you left our hotel thinking otherwise. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services, and for this reason, your impressions will be shared with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We hope to get another chance to welcome you again at one of our worldwide RIU hotels in order to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Touareg
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a week from the 8th June to the 15th June 2018 weather was lovely and hot all week.

First impressions when we arrived at the hotel was I couldn't wait to explore it's like a massive sand castle built on the beach. The hotel complex is huge very well spaced out and all the staff are very friendly. The hotel is maintained and kept very clean at all times.

The pools are very nice and seeing as the hotel is so big still plenty of sun beds around we never had to leave towels in the morning as there is always somewhere to sit all through the day.

The food was very much the same everyday but plenty to choose from. They have a couple of restaurants but I didn't use these as the food is the same as in the buffet restaurant. The drinks menu is not bad although the drinks are not as strong as we get here so if you like the drinks strong you will have to ask lol.

The hotel has a couple of onsite shops that aren't to badly priced if you want to pick up souvenirs. There is litually nothing around the hotel it's just rocks and dirt so you are litually in the middle of nowhere.

We chose to do a day out called the postcard of boa Vista where we went to visit a little church, the first hotel that was built on the island, the ship wreck and a couple of villages this included lunch as well. It's worth doing if you want to get out of the hotel for a few hours. They do quad biking as well although we didn't do this but it looked really fun.

The beach is lovely although the sea is just to rough to get in. I would say this hotel is mainly aimed at adults only as there really isn't anything much for the kids. And the evening entertainment is not great.

They use euros here and I found it to be pretty reasonable in the shops at the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a chilled relaxing break for a week or 10 days you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank amy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews